We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could ask for.....then a little bit more”
Review of Hotel Cartier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cartier
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for.....then a little bit more”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Cartier. This was our 5th visit to the hotel and as in the previous visits everything was first class. Nicolae and Gabriel who work on reception gave us a very warm welcome, as always. The staff who work in the dining room and who clean the rooms were friendly and worked extremely hard to ensure that the guest had everything they needed. The beds are so comfortable and probably the best that I have ever slept in (I didn't want to get out of my bed). The breakfast was plentiful with something to suit everyone: fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meat, cheeses, croissants, breads, pastries, jams, etc. What a variety!! In the bedrooms we had tea, coffee and hot chocolate together with gallettes (the local biscuit). Tea and coffee making facilities are rarely offered in French hotels. We arrived on the overnight crossing from Portsmouth with Brittany Ferries and when we arrived at the hotel just before 9am our room was ready. This hotel is centrally located within the walls and is close to restaurants, shops, etc. The Tourist information is at the bottom of the road. The train station is around 25 minutes walk away. Some buses (including the C1 and C2) run from the bottom of the road (facing the Tourist Information). The bus service is very good during the day. There is a Carrefour supermarket around the corner from the hotel. This shop isn't a large supermaarket but it allows you to stock up on things that you might have forgotten. The main Carrefour supermarket is located at La Madeleine and can be reached by the C1 or C2 bus from the bottom of the road. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirleyk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    181
    44
    7
    3
See reviews for
64
238
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a great little hotel within the walls of Sait-Malo. Centrally positioned for the many shops and restaurants it is ideally positioned.
Having had to change a reservation at the last moment from June to September (which was no problem when we arrived we decided we wanted to stay an extra night although the hotel was just about fully booked this also was arranged without any hesitation. Coupled with the welcome on arrival - top marks!
The rooms are comfortable although small. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have air con. Unusually for French hotels tea and coffee facilities are also present in the rooms as is a flat screen TV - no DVD though. Bathrooms are again small but clean and perfectly acceptable.
Breakfast is the usual continental buffet affair and perfectly nice.
Another plus is free WiFi (get the log on details from reception).
I would recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again when next back in Saint-Malo.
Photos to follow

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor although small are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We looked a few of the more expensive options in St Malo and were unimpressed. Fortunately we then discovered the Cartier, which was perfect. Great location, nicely designed rooms, very clean, friendly staff and excellent value. Would definitely stay here again when next in St Malo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhistlePunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Hotel Cartier. It is excellently located within the walled part of St Malo and is very handy to several restaurants. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel is good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our fifth visit to St malo but the first time we had stopped in this particular hotel. It was exceptionally clean and the decor and colour coordination striking. We were in one of the smaller rooms and it was a squeeze to get round the bed, but at least we were one of the lucky ones with a small bacony. The sound proofing was excellent and, though it is well situated intra muros and not far from the majority of restaurants, we found it quiet. The men who manned thereception were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was in the basement, but the food was better than in many of the hotels in France with the same number of stars. We would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel 25th and 26th June. Arrived off ferry around 9.00am and had intended just to leave luggage and check in later in the day. Very pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. Very pleasant staff on duty speaking excellent english. Now the room (302) was quite small and probably would not want to spend too much non sleeping time in it but it was very clean and comfortable bed. The ensuite was new and very good. Buffet breakfast was an extended continental type and excellent.

All in all an excellent location for visiting St Malo and outstanding value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Many rooms are overlooking street and some noise is inevitable. However double glazing was good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcw357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here for three nights recently. I flew into Dinar and the taxi ride was €25 euro to the door of the hotel.

The hotel is inside the walled city so the location is excellent. The bedroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I had a small table and chair, wardrobe, bedside lockers with lamps.

I was on the 5th floor so if a person was tall the sloping roof may have been a bit of an issue. The room is small but it is not the smallest room in the hotel I would imagine. The receptionists were very polite and helpful and were able to recommend a restaurant for dinner. The hotel had wifi but my laptop was being a bit stupid about it and I was able to get a cable to connect to the wired system from reception no problem.

I would recommend if you travel to St Malo to stay inside the walled city and this is a great hotel for that. If you want a hotel room where you will spend a lot of time relaxing and a reception area with lots of space for chilling out then this is not the hotel for you. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clamball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol Union
Hotel Bristol Union
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#29 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#26 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartier

Property: Hotel Cartier
Address: 13 Rue Saint Vincent Du Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartier 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing