We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose this hotel based primarily on price. It was about 50€ for the night I think. The room was large, with 2 double beds and we were given a code for the Internet each. The room was rundown and seemed to be straight from the 80s. Like other french hotel rooms it came with its own unique smell. No parking is provided, but it was Sunday next day so we left our car right outside. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Saint-Malo center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonpie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We tried to book a property in St Malo (France) near the railway station & ferry port as the connection from flight to train to destination was 23.00 arrival time at Hotel, however late check-in request was 22.00 and TGV wont hurry train for us, which was confirmed after Booking.com confirmed "Late Check-in" but hotel declined with 10 Euro cancelation fee ! If you were a guest at Hotel de l'Europe, would you be allowed back to your room after 10.00pm ??? As the booking agents have my credit card details along with the Hotel, could check-in not occur next morning ? as has happened before with other booking agents. So 10 Euros down & no booking as promised with-in a 24hour period from a phone call from the agents. Bad Policy by both parties ?

Room Tip: Compare booking agents !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank snapperorgans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times making the way from Jersey to Paris via St Malo. The hotel is near Hertz rental car and the train station, making waking up for the 6am train to Paris not too painful. The hotel is small and basic, but pleasant for one night's stay. Our room had a bed, tv, clothes rail, small sink and shower. The toilet was shared by two rooms.

I will definitely stay here again. We have arrived around 10pm both times and the owner has been happy to wait up for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malkotigarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent hotel for an overnight stay when coming off the boat at St. Malo. Just a few minutes drive from the port and the hotel was clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Breakfast in the morning was very good and excellent value for money with hot rolls, fresh warm croissants and pain de chocolat, fresh juice and hot coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Situated near railway station (2 min walk) and close to Old part of city (about 10 min walk). Small, very clean and tidy hotel. Not expensive. Recommend it for short stay in the city. No claims to the personnel of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrankas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. The en-suite shower was hot and worked well but leaked a little. The location is very good for the bus and train station but is a 15 min walk from the walled city - we left for the ferry port in the morning and needed a taxi due to the distance. The walls are thin but we were lucky in having no noisy neighbours. This was a very good value hotel for a stop-over before a ferry but we were happy not to be staying for another night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha Ocean
Hotel Alpha Ocean
#63 of 82 in Saint-Malo
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel arc en ciel
Hotel arc en ciel
#66 of 82 in Saint-Malo
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
#47 of 82 in Saint-Malo
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jou...
#3 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
#21 of 82 in Saint-Malo
748 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
#50 of 82 in Saint-Malo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Address: 44 boulevard de la Republique, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing