We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a walk on the wild side on the Ramparts”
Review of Fort National

Fort National
Ranked #8 of 61 things to do in Saint-Malo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1689 to protect the city.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a walk on the wild side on the Ramparts”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

no charge for walking ontop of the walls of Intra Muros, best views of several bays - a true fortification.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wreford-channelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    168
    72
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,247 reviews
1,064 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
“Nice little fort”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our first stop in St-Malo was to see Fort National. I had read that when their flag was up, we could visit it, as the high tide would not hamper accessing it. I had researched when high tide would occur and we showed up almost an hour before it would be high tide. The flag was still up. However we found the door closed for some reason and so did other dissapointed tourists. The last tour had occurred 15 minutes before we arrived.

Still we had a nice view of the surroundings and the beach was sure beautiful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“In the middle of the day with no sign: public toilets were close…”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A nice place to walk on the walls and enjoy the beautiful view.
A lot was written about this place, but I can't understand why
in the middle of the day, they closed the public toilets?,
no sign, no opening time, just closed. Shame on them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jacob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Malo
1 review
“Not worth the entrance fee”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have taken some American friends to visit Fort National in Saint Malo last week-end. The tourist group mostly consisted of non French speakers, but the young guides did not even dare asking the visitors if they were able to understand French. The content of the visit was really not interesting, the visit was done in less than 20 minutes and we were all kicked out of the Fortress. This was and will be my first and only visit to Fort National. Visitors who come to Saint Malo should rather visit other parts of this beautiful city instead of wasting their time and money for this visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeiYi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

As a child, I lived near an island that was only accessible at low tide and people were always getting stranded, so was a bit anxious (totally irrational!!). Worth the short walk across the sand, and the view back to the city was interesting. Good guide on the tour, or if not taking the tour I'd advise buying a guide book.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bev w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort National also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Fort National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing