We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent place for short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Pedro
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A decent place for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

The location of this place is superb - a mere 30 seconds walk and you are by the sea front. Quiet neighborhood but only two minutes walk to the main streets. Plenty of restaurants nearby. The room we stayed in was just right for a couple nights stay; the only wish we had was better air ventilation in the room (there was a big window but there was too a chimney from a restaurant right outside). All in all, we liked the location and the fact that we could get a good night sleep at this budget hotel. The lady at the front desk was lovely, but communicating with her turned out to be a challenge. She tried hard, so did we :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank po-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    124
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
217
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Mireille is an absolute jewel of an innkeeper. She is the sweetest and most accommodating woman in France. The San Pedro is a terrific little boutique hotel. The rooms are comfortable, modern, and sparkling clean. You will not regret for a second your stay.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Merkincrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Unbelievably good position in the heart of the old Town, so close to the sea, the Cathedral and shops. Small hotel with small rooms but that doesn't matter - you only sleep in them, and they are clean and very functional. The owners are so friendly and helpful plus the use of a garage means for me the hotel is second to none. Great breakfasts and costs very reasonable. Highly recommended. Next time I cycle in the area I will definitely be staying there again. Thanks, Nick.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickC222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

Great location, 2 mins to the beach, 2 mins to main shopping area.
The hotel was a pleasant surprise very homely and clean. The room was small but sufficient. (unless you want to spend a lot of time in your room).
The hostess Mireille made us feel very welcome with her French charm and her breakfasts were full of variety and surprises!

If you're looking for an even more scenic town, with beautiful shops and restaurants visit Dinan 45 mins away. (2 Euros each way on the number 10 bus). Pick up bus timetable at the visitor centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Perfectly located cozy hotel with very welcoming and hospitable owners. We stayed in San Pedro (on the 4th floor) for 3 nights with my wife and really enjoyed it. The hotel is situated in Intrmuros - only 2 minutes to the Plage de Bon Secours. View from the window, especially on the sunset is breathtaking and marvelllous. Rooms not spacious but neat and stylish. Service is brilliant. I would definetely recommend it to my best friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlistser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
}���S��
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

Stayed here on the basis of previous reviews and can only concur. The rooms and especially the bathroom are tiny - would be uncomfortable for a large person (although my tall husband was fine). (The lift is equally small.) But it is great value and very pleasant. Within sight of the see and a great creperie (opposite). The hostess is nothing if not enthusiastic, maybe verging on the eccentric, but very welcoming and helpful. Parking is nearby, with no charge overnight (day times only).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Chissock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My partner and I stayed at San Pedro for one night in March 2009 and really enjoyed it.
Pros:
Owner is super friendly, speaks French slowly and clearly (if that matters to you).
Location is just by the ramparts in St. Malo, literally a few steps away from the sea.
We were lucky to have ocean view from our room (low season).
Price was reasonable: 70-80 Euro p/night
Breakfast was HUGE and tasty
Very close to all of the Intramuros attractions in St. Malo

Cons:
Bathroom is tiny -- almost difficult to fit for large persons
Bathroom door has a "window" -- a potential privacy issue for some (I suppose)
Rooms are small but clean and comfy.

All in all we felt like we really lucked out with San Pedro and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#21 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
#9 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#58 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
0.2 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#23 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pedro

Property: Hotel San Pedro
Address: 1 rue Sainte Anne, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
#7 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Pedro 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel
San Pedro Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing