We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem in the heart of St Malo”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem in the heart of St Malo”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved staying in this little hotel in the heart of the walled town. The rooms were bright and clean and the beds very comfortable. My only issue was the very small shower room which my husband struggled to fit into, but as we were there only two nights it wasnt really a problem. The Hotel owners were very helpful, both before we arrived (a delayed ferry left us arriving after reception had shut) and whilst we were there. the breakfast was basic but adequate, and the homemade bread was a nice touch. Around the corner from the hotel is the Saint Malo brew pub where they brew the beer in the bar area! Great atmosphere, food and drink!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SianElt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    141
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
390
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I were wandering through Normandy and Brittany last April. We made no reservations ahead of time. We decided to just explore, and stay wherever we felt like on the spur of the moment. After spending a day and night at Mont St. Michel, we decided to work our way west along the coast. We knew we wanted to visit Cancale, to sample the oysters. Cancale was beautiful, but it was too early in the day to settle in so we kept going. We arrived in St. Malo, which seemed to be a much larger town than Cancale. As we drove down a long boulevard we passed a few nice looking hotels, and we began to have a sense that this might be something of a resort town. At the end of the boulevard we came upon a walled medieval city. This stopped us in our tracks! We had to explore! There is plenty of municipal parking outside of the walled city, as there is also a marina. I believe you can hop a ferry to the UK from here. We walked through the gates into the medieval town, which was gorgeous. There are many lovely shops, and restaurants. After exploring for a while, we decided that we'd like to stay the night. We came upon the Nautilus Hotel on a quiet little side street. It looked quite charming. We walked in and spoke with the manager/owner, who was very warm and welcoming. The hotel is small. It has a small footprint, so there are just a handful of rooms on each of the 5 or 6 floors. We were given the key to our room and then directed to a small elevator. After a couple of minutes in the room we heard a baby crying in a nearby room. We love babies, but we didn't want to have to listen to a baby crying in the middle of the night, so we went back down to speak with the owner. He had no problem whatsoever accommodating our request to change rooms. In fact, he handed us several keys, and told us to choose whichever room we wanted. So we were able to check out several different rooms in the hotel. They were all very clean, and comfortable. As others have mentioned, this is not a super fancy, luxury hotel, but it is very nice, and reasonably priced. Staying at the Nautilus was a serendipitous, and completely satisfying!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Starchfromithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

A lot of attention to detail in this little 2 star hotel in the heart of the walled medieval part of St Malo. It is impeccably clean, excellent free internet service with a typical French continental breakfast for a small amount extra. The rooms were quite small but well laid out and clean and bright and our room had double bunks as well as a double bed. I think probably this hotel is perfect for families with its quirky Jules Verne them and bright colours, or budget conscious couples looking for a handy base for exploring this interesting area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeritus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hørsholm, Danmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel does not get its high ratings for being a five star luxury resort with spa, swimmingpools and room service.

This hotel earns its high ratings for its fabulous location, the hard working staff, the great breakfast, which even included homebaked bread, the friendly and helpful, even homely, service, and for being a very clean and cosy hotel.

For a family like us, it was perfect and with GREAT value for money.

We enjoyed our stay immensely, and we will come back to Le Nautilus, whenever we go to Bretagne in the future.

Room Tip: Book your rooms well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lassay-les-Chateaux, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I suppose we expected something out of this world when we read all the amazing reviews on tripadvisor, so we were a tad disappointed with the hotel; don't get me wrong, this is a very good basic hotel, well situated for exploring the walled city and close to loads of restaurants, good value too. Our room was spotlessly clean and toasty warm in November. Service was good and breakfast is adequate but not exceptional. Don't expect too much and you won.t be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGormandiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you visit Saint-Malo you do so for the experience not the hotel room. This cosy little hotel is situated inside the city walls so is in a great location. Would recommend for a reasonably priced hotel that is very clean and pleasant. Take some sunglasses for the decor and you will be fine!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMathewKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A very pleasant hotel located right in the centre of the picturesque old quarter of St Malo. The rooms are a bit small but more than adequate. Loick, the owner is great - he himself is a travel nut and understands very well the needs of travellers. He speaks very good English and is more than happy to wile away a couple of hours comparing experiences, if that is your thing! However, he is not intrusive. Driving through the streets of the old town to Le Nautilus is a bit of a trial on the first time of doing it, but becomes easier as one gains experience. Parking is in a nearby public carpark but we had no security concerns. Overall, highly recommended; and will certainly use it again if in St Malo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing