We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fantastic welcome and the owner is a fantastic host. Hotel is small bit the rooms are a good size. Very clean and despite being so central, it was very quite and peaceful. Lovely breakfast which included delicious homemade bread. Highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 683 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Me and my husband have just left Saint Malo where we stayed for three nights at Le Nautillus and could not help but leave this review to a very deserving place. The hotel is small, only 15 rooms, in a historic building, dating back to the 1600s, at the very heart of the old town. The room was cosy and the breakfast was very good. You really get what you paid for, but the outstanding thing is the cordial atmosphere. Loick, one of the owners, really made us feel very welcoming and coped with our poor French, giving us good tips on where to go, the times of buses and trains to Saint Michel, etc. besides always greeting us with a warm Bon Jour or Bon Soir. Looking forward to going again and staying there one more time. Adeli and Ede Costacurta

Room Tip: Rooms are small for the building is ancient.Good for couples. Do not recommend for big families with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adelijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Delightful small hotel - the owner was friendly and provided excellent service. The room was clean tidy and very pleasant. The location was ideal right in the walled port city - restaurant and shops all in walking distant. Would highly recommend this hotel when visiting the beautiful walled port city of Saint Malo

Room Tip: I had room 2 and it was on the first floor and outlook of the cobblestone road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spacey1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at room 16 for two nights. The room is on the top floor and is actually the attic with a sloping roof, accessible via a small lift. The room, toilet, shower, bedding were all very clean. Room was cleaned daily. Very quiet, sleep uneventful. There is one sloping window with blackout curtains. The room is very small with a low ceiling, I'm 1.71m and I kept hitting my head on the wooden roof beam! There is one small table and chair. A tiny closet is available to hang your coats. Satellite TV was available too.

The male couple who owns/runs the hotel is very accommodating and friendly. They kindly made photocopies of the bus schedules to Dinan/Dinard/Cancale/Mont St. Michel.

I wished I could stay longer in this hotel and was lucky to secure a room without a reservation. Make sure you book early! The hotel is located near the main gate. I highly recommend staying within 'intra-muros' of St. Malo. Very picturesque!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HinYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked that hotel for a hiking a holiday, there were about 10 of us from our walking group. The hotelier and his staff all spoke excellent English, helped us in our various bookings (taxis, restaurants etc), were extremely accomodating with some changes that happened in the booking of some members of our group. They were extremely friendly. My room was very quiet and clean, very comfortable and certainly good value for money. I am happy to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very central and good value hotel in Saint-Malo.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the first floor was very quiet, but no sun got in there. I did not mind since I was spendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

St Malo was the most wonderful place, I will treasure it in my heart forever. If you haven't been to St Malo before you have to understand that it is a completely walled city ( town ) and this little gem of hotel is inside the walls. This hotel is spotless. The owners pride themselves on this fact. The rooms are a little small but nicely decorated and again spotless. We had breakfast there a couple of times which was fine. St Malo itself is absolutely beautiful and we spent many an hour walking on the ramparts watching the tide go in and out. It was also our jumping off point to visit Jersy and Mont St Michel - both fabulous places. The owners are so friendly and really kind. They keep winning tripadvisor awards and it is easy to see why. You can tell that they put their heart and soul into the place and we were really sad to leave. Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Delightful hotel. Friendly and efficient service. Excellent location, nice deco, rooms on the smallish side but really well shaped & designed. No car parking in direct vicinity of the hotel but it is walled old city so you need to be prepared for parking challenge. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#3 of 82 in Saint-Malo
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
744 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 82 in Saint-Malo
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $75 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing