We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stop-over hotel in St Malo”
Review of Hotel Beaufort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beaufort
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This small hotel is clean and well presented. It is directly adjacent to the prom. The rooms are on the small side but the views (sea side rooms) are excellent. The breakfast room looks out to sea.and the breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. The staff were helpful and speak good English. It is a 15 minute walk to the old town of St Malo, which is a very nice old French town with lots of individual shops and bistros. There is no car park but free street parking is relatively easy nearby. It is worth staying two or three nights to see St.Malo - the ferry to Dinard is worth taking from next to the Chain Tower.

Room Tip: A sea view room is essential to appreciate this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 664 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a charming bijou hotel in a perfect location.
We stayed only 2 nights but wished we had longer. Our room was small but spotless and well decorated with a huge bed and a more than adequate en suite. The breakfast was delicious with a great choice of fruit, fresh breads and pastries, eggs, ham, cheese and yogurts, plus freshly squeezed orange juice and great coffee. The view from the breakfast room / bar is superb overlooking the sea. The staff were extremely obliging and friendly and although we attempted to speak their language - they all spoke perfect English! Although it is about 20 minutes stroll into the old town it is well worth it. We shall return!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be preferable, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Parkes-Buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1958075, Responsable réception at Hotel Beaufort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We do thank our guests for their comments about their experience at our hotel.
We are very greatfull to read that our policy in term of guest welcoming is appreciated. This makes our team proud of being part of our guest vaccation in the wonderfull town of Saint Malo .
Hopping to have the chance to host you again very soon at our sea side hotel , Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in September in a room with balcony and hated to leave. It was a perfect location as a base to visit Mont St Michel, Cancale, and Dinan as well as exploring St Malo and Dinan. The staff provided good service at breakfast and even froze our water bottles for our day trips. Room was tiny but lovely and well organized with a great bath. Parking is only on the street which was not a problem in shoulder season.

Room Tip: Balcony was worth the extra $ for wine and cheese or picnic supper with the couple traveling with u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizb926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel prior to catching the ferry the next day. It is supposed to be a three star hotel. There is no parking: we are invited to park free in the street (if we can find a place). Our balcony/terrace was shared. At 6 am in the morning, while brushing teeth, a pipe burst beneath the sink and boiling water gushed out. I ran downstairs for assistance and the very helpful man on night duty rushed to stem the flow with a large stock of hotel towels. We had no time for breakfast.
By way of compensation, we have been given the supplement which was due for our two dogs (12 euros each).
Fulham traveller.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fulhamtraveller977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1958075, Responsable réception at Hotel Beaufort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We do thank our clients for their comments regarding their experience in our hotel.

Indeed we are sorry about the unfortunable plumbing issue that occured during this stay. Nevertheless our staff tried to solve the issue as fast a possible and in order to compensate this inconvenience we kindly offered the extra charge of 24 euros for the 2 dogs stay and a gift voucher valuable on a future stay at our hotel.

The entire Hotel Beaufort team remains available at all time in order to maintain quality for our guest wellness during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were 3 nights in this hotel, very well located on the Sillon beach, just in front of the sea.
Very nice sea view from the room, perfect breakfast (we appreciated particularly the fresh orange juice, the high choice, the typical home maid cakes and far breton. One point to improve: hot chocolate could be more tasty...) Nice attention the beach towels to take at your convenience when you go the beach. Very cosy and typical marine style decoration. Nice room (we had big room for 2 with sea view), nice view (one point to be improved: the bed could be oriented in front of the window to fall asleep in the ocean... Currently, in our room, we could almost not see the ocean from the bed). Good bathroom (with a real bath), well designed for efficiency with enough place for all the beauty products). Very nice attentions the big bottle of water (new one each day) and the Britannic biscuits at the arrival... Nice marine decorations in the room as in all the hotel. Perfect bes, perfect insonorisation (we had only the ocean sweet music to sleep, perfect!)
As a conclusion, the price and the appearance of a 3 star hotel but the service and the experience of a 5 star one.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alban_Eral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband, 12 year old son, and I stayed at this hotel and loved it. We live in San Francisco and booked this hotel online through bookings.com. We arrived in St. Malo early in the morning (by ferry) prior to check-in and were greeted very pleasantly by the person working there who let us store our bags while we checked out the town. Since there were three of us, the room was a bit snug. It did look like they took a 2 person room and added a temporary 3rd single bed. We had stayed in a 3 person room in London though, and this one was larger. The room and the bathroom each had large windows that opened facing the street. It was wonderful to let the sea breeze in. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The room also had two closets, one for hanging clothes and one that was all shelves. It was good to have the storage space. The hotel also offered free wi fi. We had the continental breakfast there both mornings of our stay. The food was good (convenient, but not cheap), and the dining room quaint and lovely with views of the beach. In the evenings the dining room served beverages such as coffee, wine, and beer. The overall ambiance was quiet, lovely and relaxing. In typical European fashion, the elevator was small, so we took the stairs a lot when going up and down to our room. The stairwell also had windows, but the stairwell carpeting was bit worn. They were efficient about electricity, so when entering a hallway it would be dark, but you just had to click a wall switch that would turn the lights on. We loved this hotel, the staff was great. We would stay here again. Given the quiet elegance of the hotel though, I would not recommend this for boisterous families or rambunctious children. During breakfast for example it was very polite, quiet, and civilized with the full china coffee-tea-hot chocolate service. Our 12 year old son was (thankfully) on his best behavior -- he picked-up on the setting and acted accordingly. The hotel also offered beach access (through the dining room) and extra towels were on the back deck for use on the beach.

Room Tip: When we booked none of the rooms facing the water were available, but that turned out to be OK, as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were delighted by everything about this hotel - the friendly staff, the excellent rooms, and it was clear that they have thought through every detail. The decor quietly complements the location which of course is beautiful. We chose rooms that look right out onto the ocean, and we had access to the ocean from the hotel.

In the clean and well-organized rooms - we had no trouble with wi-fi, which my teens appreciated - and there were plenty of outlets for our gadgets. The bathroom was well appointed, including big towels.

The petit dejeuner had a great, fresh selection, including local treats. I enjoyed sitting in the dining area and there is also a lovely outdoor seating area.

The staff was very professional and helpful throughout our stay, we felt welcomed and cared for.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our ocean-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmk304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#16 of 82 in Saint-Malo
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Charmettes
Hotel Les Charmettes
#8 of 82 in Saint-Malo
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaufort

Address: 25 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $100 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaufort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beaufort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing