We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveler rating
346
262
33
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
346
262
33
5
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 653 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Location is conveniently near the beach, a large supermarket, 3 bus routes, a few small shops and a bar.
Despite being labelled a "comfort" room it was fairly small and had none of the 'comforts' I am used to from other 3 star hotels (like a fridge, safe, toiletries, tea making facilities, pen and paper, decent number of clothes hangers for a double room, ...). The bed was comfortable and an extra blanket and pillow were provided. Shower was fine. Everything very clean and in good condition.
It had a TV but BBC world (ie news) was the only non-French language channel.
Some staff (the owner?) came across as a bit grumpy at times but then again I didn't ask much/engage so perhaps they were more friendly with other people. She spoke good English which was much appreciated.
It's located the corner of a road with a fair bit of traffic so could get a bit loud with the window open.
The #3 bus route stops 2 minutes walk from the hotel and goes to/from the train station, #8 down the coast, both go to the old town ("intra muros"). Although the buses were not very frequent, they were punctual, cheap and very convenient as both the station and old town are over 30 min walk away (get a timetable booklet from tourist information).
The hotel did offer breakfast at an additional cost - can't judge its quality as didn't take up this offer, however the bar just 20m down the road has a perfectly fine typically French breakfast (coffee/tea/chocolate, orange juice and 2 croissants) for almost half the price.
I can't judge if this hotel was good value for money for St Malo as I booked at short notice and had few options, but it was certainly overpriced compared with hotels I have stayed in in other places. In retrospect I would rather have paid a little more and stayed somewhere with an ocean view, a more interesting location, a bit more character and/or a bit more comfort.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank GRose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Possibly one of the cheapest places travellers can stay in Saint Malo. It is located 2 minutes walking from the beach, one could enjoy a good walk after dinner along the seawall.

It is clean with a basic set up. I wish the room had at least a water kettle but that wasn't the case. So if you only require a bed and a shower, this is the place.

Walking to the Intra-Muros is about 30 minutes, walking to Gare Saint Malo is about 20. There are bus stations close by.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank ImmigrantChineseGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

We came here with our 8yo boy and newborn baby, and booked a family room.
Basically, it's 2 bedrooms which are connected through a door.
This means we had 3 beds, 1 large and 2 singles, 2 bathrooms, 2 cupboards etc.
The rooms have been refurnished recently, all is nice, clean and convenient.
The breakfast is great, with enough choice for kids and grownups.
Easy to park location, not far from the walls of the inner city.
The price is really fair for this quality of service.
WiFi is free, but very restrictive, and the operating software is intrusive, I couldn't even connect to my bank with a secure connection, take care of bank/pro email connections, it's unsafe.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Fraddk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2015

Excellent hotel , comfortable bed, spacious bedroom , excellent breakfast .
Fantastic friendly reception manager, nothing was too much trouble for him , did everything to make my stay comfortable , thank you s much

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermitage_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

We spent the first 3 nights of our tour through the Bretagne here and liked it. The location is great with only 150 m to the beach, restaurants and supermarket close by and a 20 minute walk along the promenade to the town cent
er. The room and especially the bathroom were small, but sufficient. Whith 97 Euro per night this was not a cheap, but comfortable, friendly and clean accomodation. And Saint Malo seems to belong to the most expensive areas to stay in the Bretagne... (and one of the nicest :-)). Only minus: our room was towards the road and we could not sleep with open windows. They closed well and it was quiet with closed windows - but quite sticky.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 2015-BretaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews