We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brit Hotel Le Surcouf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brit Hotel Le Surcouf
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked this hotel based on the positive comments on this website and was a bit disappointed - rather brought back to reality - as this hotel is what can be expected from a 2-star hotel in France, nothing more, nothing less. The room was rather small and of average quality, same as the bathroom. Breakfast with little choice so we mostly skipped it.
Location and neighborhood is ok though, walled town in walking distance across the lovely beach promenade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyAbuDhabi_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    146
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
76
215
17
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lonaconing, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A clean, simple hotel with wonderful service. The owner/ manager couldn't have been nicer. Served cider each evening, on-the-house. And was helpful at every turn. Our room had obviously been recently upgraded. Bed was comfortable. Room wasn't large, but large enough. Shower was very modern and water was hot. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile


Up until this stay St Malo was a place I'd driven through on the way to somewhere more interesting! This was a bit of a mistake as it's a lovely little place and if you are going to stay here you could do far worse than stay here.

The proprietor is lovely, the hotel is clean and moments from the beach. We had a fantastic walk along the beach and a great meal in town.

It's a two star hotel so it's not uber chic but it's more than adequate in a quiet area. I've paid much more for far less in my life.

Breakfast is excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le Midi Atlantique
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not much should be expected from a 2-star hotel in France, but all the praise in the comments made me hope for something special. Disappointment! And given the relatively high price, it is necessary to mention some negative points. The room was rather small, just enough place to walk around the bed. Not much light, in particular in the entrance. The bed was too short for a person of normal height. Finally, at breakfast, apart from good quality bread, choice was poor...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brit Hotel Le Surcouf in St. Malo 4 Feb, 2013. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much, that we re-booked the hotel again for our last night in France. The room we stayed in was very clean and quiet. We had a flat screen TV and was able to pick up both the BBC and USA-Today. The bathroom was wonderfully clean with plenty of fresh towels and heat.

What made our stay even more special was the staff. The husband and wife team who manage the hotel are friendly, helpful and gracious. They are both more than happy to assist with directions and recommendations, and they speak English pretty well. We found that the Brit Hotel Le Surcouf is near stores and restaurants, and the walled city is less than a half a mile away. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit St. Malo and look forward to staying there again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcross2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed recently as Sunday night walk in guests. Having had previous bad experiences of the walled city hotels, I was happy to stay out of town and stroll (30mins) or taxi back into town.

Having checked out other unimpressive hotels nearby, the Brit Hotel Le Surcouf was really modern, fresh and clean with a good location only two minutes walk from the seafront / promenade.

As I mentioned, the reception staff were really friendly with restaurant recommendations, driving route ideas and information on car-repairs locally.

Worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Kirk_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the "Surcouf" and I must admit being very impressed. Our double room was a good size, comfortable and well equipped, the bed was incredibly comfortable ( which sadly is rarer than it should be, the pillows soft and beddings soft and cool. Our bathroom was a good size with a proper full size bath ( much appreciated )with plenty of space for toiletries and the towels of good quality too. The whole room was spotlessly clean and quite frankly for the price I feel we got a real bargain in the almost high season, in St Malo. Intra Muros is about five minutes drive, the beach is only five minutes away and Parame is a nice little suburb with all the shops you might need such as Boulangeries, Pharmacies and even a little Carrefour.

All in all I think any traveller looking for a comfy, convenient and very clean place to stay in this beautiful city could do a lot worse. Yes the street can be a little noisy ( it is a city for goodness sake, what do people expect ????) but from our personal experience only from about 6/7 am and nothing too bad at all, the occasional truck and a few cars. Hardly a big problem. Night time was extremely quiet. We found the after hours automatic access also very convenient.

Basically I would say the Hotel had thought about issues carefully and ensured as efficient and comfy a stay as possible.

We enjoyed our stay, the staff was friendly and helpful and we shall most definitely stay at this Brit Hotel again next time we visit St Malo.

Francais :

Un Sejour tres confortable, chambre and salle de bains super propre, spacieuse and un lit tres confortable ( ainsi que les oreillers). Pratique et tres proche de la plage and intro-muros ( 5 minutes en voiture maximum).


Le personel sympathique et acceuillant , un petit hotel qui nous a surpris par son rapport qualite prix. Nous le recommenderions a quiconque recherchant un hotel propre, bien equippe et fonctionel. Nous y reviendrons sans doute si nous revenons a St Malo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooseketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.0 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brit Hotel Le Surcouf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brit Hotel Le Surcouf

Property: Brit Hotel Le Surcouf
Address: 17 avenue du Reverend Pere Umbricht, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brit Hotel Le Surcouf 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Brit Hotel Le Surcouf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing