We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lovely friendly hotel, clean large family room double with door dividing 3single beds .plenty of free parking! Speak English. Handy for ferry and beach and walled city. Free wifi. We didn't eat breakfast but breakfast area is available. We would definitely visit again , we only stayed overnight but would be happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    167
    48
    19
    4
See reviews for
52
235
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We chose to stay at the Eden for a third time because of the location to the beach. But in addition to this we have always been made welcome, the rooms are clean, breakfast is good, and there is off road parking. Our two pet poodles are also welcomed.

This time we emailed Caroline the owner and booked direct, we asked for the same room as before , number 24, this is a ground floor room, we were told that there had been some refurbishment and a terrace and planting had been added. We were not disappointed the bathroom had been updated and has a fantastic shower which is powerful and has a relaxing colour changing light. The shower has also a hand held facility as well as the overhead one which is very powerful and plenty of hot water. Hair dryer included in the bathroom. The bathroom was lacking a toilet roll holder and soap dish ( the new basin is a curved design), a hook would also be handy to hang a washbag on. Having said that the owners have made a lovely job.

Towels changed daily and room kept clean. Friendly staff and a pleasure to stay.

The terraced area and the vegetation planted has had a lot of thought put into it and has been very well carried out.

When we visit Rochbonne it will be this small but very charming hotel we choose. Our thanks to Caroline and her staff for an enjoyable four day stay.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel. Short drive to Sait Malo for dinner and we recommend Lion D,or. Free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevres. France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My family and I tend to book 4 star hotels, but looking at the (French) reviews of the Hotel Eden I decided to give this 2 star a chance. Granted the rooms are small and the bedding basic, but the welcome, cleanliness and general comfort are above a 2 star rating (in my opinion). The welcome is warm and genuine and when we returned from dinner in the evening, we were asked if we wanted a hot drinks brought to our room.
I would highly recommend this hotel if your visiting Saint Malo or the Mont Saint Michel area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I guess I should've known you get what you pay for, but I read the reviews and went with this hotel for a one night stay and it was an epic fail. The room was unbelievably small, furnished with Ikea's lowest quality line, the flat screen TV was a 17 inch monitor that received almost no channels, the breakfast was overpriced and would be considered beyond basic, the free wifi was only in the lobby, and the climate control was terrible. We contemplated leaving at 4AM because we were unable to sleep because the room got so stuffy and uncomfortable. This on top of the beds being extremely uncomfortable. My wife and I tried to sleep on the edge of the bed because the divot in the center of the bed was so pronounced. It took us two days for recover from such a poor night's sleep. We enjoyed St. Malo and wished that we had just booked a hotel after we had arrived since there were so many others in the area. If your bottom line is price, I would still consider looking elsewhere because it was far from comfortable. Oh, and not to mention we found dead ants in one of my kid's beds and there were a couple crawling around ours. Not an infestation, but enough to add to an already lousy stay. The only reason I feel bad writing this review is that the family that operates the place was extremely nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
#40 of 81 in Saint-Malo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.2 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#26 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ar Iniz
Hotel Ar Iniz
#32 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aubade
Hotel Aubade
#24 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: 1 rue de l Etang, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#31 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
very nice hotel located at 200 meters from the beach26 rooms all renovated, buffet breakfast, free parking all around ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing