We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel with Potential”
Review of Hotel Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alba
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this small hotel with a friend and his wife for only one night. The rooms were perfectly clean and adequate, beds comfortable, and - given the 'resort' location - reasonably priced. We had a sea-facing balcony, but would have found it a physical challenge to use it and 'Health & Safety' would have been interested had it been in the UK! Breakfast was good but comparatively expensive at E12, certainly when compared to elsewhere (E8 to E10) - but it is a resort and so a premium applies. Lunch and Dinner are not available, so we had to find a restaurant elsewhere - luckily for dinner we hit by chance on the nearby 'Le Bouche a Oreille', which was brilliant. Car parking at the Alba is limited, so get there early! Finally, the staff are very helpful and friendly, so overall it was a good experience at reasonable value for money for a resort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherborneExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We needed a room at the last minute in St Malo and the Alba was recommended. It is a small hotel, but it does have a bar associated with it and a wonderful breakfast. Pay the extra $5 and get a room with a view of the beach. The best part about the hotel is the beach - it is the most beautiful beach that we have found in France. The hotel is not within the walled city, but one could walk there. We were only there one night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bismallw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Saw this hotel in Sawdays "Special Places to Stay" and expected something, well special! Instead we got a small room, with a balcony that you could not have swung a cat on even if you had dared stand on it (look from outside and you will see what i mean!). Room smelt of stale smoke, the carpet was not clean and i doubt the windows had been washed for quite some time. Add the very small bed which sloped down towards the headboard (if you sleep at the other end and are very short you might just get some sleep) and you can get the picture!

Lovely location though and short walk into old town but we wont be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonTreacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

After reading a poor review of our family suite we felt a bit apprehensive but the Hotel Alba turned out to be ideal for us.
The two bedrooms were clean and attractively decorated with a spotless bathroom and separate toilet between them.
We were able to park just outside our own private entrance which proved really convenient.
The terrace was just a few steps up from the the patio window with a fantastic view of the sea and from there we could also get straight onto the promenade and the beach.
The location was great with the beach just outside and the old town just an easy walk away.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShropshireLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We staid in the hotel just after sailing from Porstmouth and our 6 months old baby was extremly sick.

We went straight to the hotel (8 am) and they upgraded us straightaway to one of the best room which was available so we could put our baby at rest, which was greatly appreciated.

the hotel itself is not luxurious but very comfortable and well worth its 3 stars. Location is unbeatable, right on the main beach with beautiful views on the beach and on the old town. Morover, it is very close to the old town and you can walk there by walking along the beach.

the beach itself is beatiful and very clean. THe hotel is perfectly quite with nothing but a paedestrian promenade between the hotel and the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DudeLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This hotel was a terrible disappointment. I had booked the "Family Room" 5 months in advance after having seen the hotel in Alastair Sawdays "Special Places to Stay-French Hotels".
When we arrived we were directed to our room which was essentially in the basement and accessible only by going outside the hotel. It was two bedrooms connected by a short hallway. The "Oceanfront" bedroom was about six steps below a terrace which was at the level of the seawall. One could see the ocean by standing up and looking across the sidewalk, but it was certainly not visible from the bed (even sitting up) or from a chair. Worse still, anyone walking on the seawall (essentially a sidewalk) could look directly down into the room severely limiting privacy. In addition, the only way to allow air into the front room was to have the door open as there was no open-able window.

Although the bathroom was perfectly adequate, the room itself was in need of a paint job and the floor was linoleum.

Although we had planned on staying for two nights, after the first we were able to find a room at the Best Western Hotel Alexander just a few doors down the beach and checked out early. For 10 euros less we had a beautiful room on the top floor with an excellent view of the ocean and beach.

Perhaps the remaining rooms in this hotel were fine but our room was far less than the three star (***) rating claimed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Alba for one night as we were sailing the next morning from St Malo to the UK.

In summary, we didn't feel that the hotel was worth the 150 euros per night.

The room itself was very small, had mould growing up the walls, broken lampshades and a bedspread which had definitely seen better days. That said, the en-suite was small but nicely decorated and clean.

The service was erratic. On check-in, they were very efficient and helpful. However, when we went to the bar to check out the fantastic view, we were continually ignored in our efforts to get some drinks and ended up leaving.

The location is good for being by the beach with fantastic sea views, however it was a good 20 minute walk to the Intra Muros.

All in all, Hotel Alba was ok, but I think we'd try somewhere else on our next trip to St Malo.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dashwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Jersey
Le Jersey
#17 of 82 in Saint-Malo
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antinea
Hotel Antinea
#13 of 82 in Saint-Malo
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#26 of 82 in Saint-Malo
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#16 of 82 in Saint-Malo
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
#53 of 82 in Saint-Malo
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Beaufort
#33 of 82 in Saint-Malo
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba

Address: 17 rue des Dunes, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $93 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing