We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
46
62
32
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
46
62
32
20
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 171 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Last two days of holiday before return to U.K. proved to be a superb decision. Weather was perfect. Hotel was about 50 yes off beach. Superb walk in the mornings to the Fort and wander around the walled city. Lunch in one of the many restaurants available. Totally recommend 24 hrs in this interesting port before return to U.K.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

The lead photo is entirely misleading. It is of an apartment block opposite the hotel.

I knew we'd messed up at the front door and it only got worse.

It took us just 15 minutes to find somewhere else and we'll see over time how long the mental scars remain.

Family room directly above the outside bar sitting area = smokey. The one way street was noisy and the immediate area is a bit sketchy with some quirky locals around.

Cardboard thin walls, leather throws, the feeling that if there were a fire that you would be jumping out of the window to certain broken legs or possible death.

We once stayed in a hostel that was a former prison in Australia. That was more homely.
We could not bring ourselves to stay at the Alpha Ocean.

This is no judgement on the staff whatsoever. This is purely an accommodation thing. If I wanted to stay in the 1950s or 1960s then I'd borrow Doc Brown's DeLorean and check it out. We ended up in a 2010s generic global hotel and were quite happy.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TAMember06062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Stayed as most people seem to overnight on the way back to the UK. The picture you show is of the apartment block opposite! Old fashioned hotel, nicely redecorated downstairs but oh dear! The room was tiny, cramped and in desperate need of a refurb. Ancient scuffed red leatherette curtains and throw which were falling to bits. The best thing was the bedding was spotless! If refurbished the room would make an adequate single. Lots of noise from other rooms and outside. Would I stay there again? No.

Room tip: Ask to see the room before paying!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mamadarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Stayed here the night before an early ferry crossing to Blighty.
Very helpful staff, nice, if small, room. Good bar next door overlooking the beach and promenade.
Extremely reasonable cost and a simple continental breakfast.
I would stay there again.

Room tip: No lift so ask about a lower floor if you have difficulties.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 90Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Right next to the beach. Old French style hotel, with restaurant next door so convenient.
Needs a bit of updating in the bedroom, curtains and covers, maybe new carpet. But lovely family rooms. We had room 419 on first floor. No sea views.
Every thing was clean, beds comfy.

Room tip: Corridor on first floor was quiet
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolAnn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews