We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Stay away from this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Alpha Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpha Ocean
Ranked #57 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware! Stay away from this hotel!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

They charged our credit card even though we called to cancel because of a medical emergency, only a few hours after we originally made a reservation. No consideration at all. Based on the reviews, I think this hotel will grab customers any which way they can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
31
72
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

alpha ocean was a bit hard to find but once you did fantastic. About 30 feet from the beach in a lovely little pocket.Rooms were very clean,great showers and the owner Michell could not have been more pleasant and helpful.we are travelling on a budget and he happily lent us plates etc and let us put our own food and drinks in his fridge. Very reasonable rates. It is about 3 k from st malo centre which we liked,not so busy.only problem is limited parking in the street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Very rundown hotel. Reasonably clean but the bed was so old and lumpy it was the worst I have ever experienced. Advertised facilities were not available, no bar, balcony or seaview even though we paid extra and they ran out of food at breakfast. Very difficult access up steep staircase. I would never stay here again, couldn't wait to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Malo hotels

newry
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and we loved it.There were celebrations on the street, which we really enjoyed.Our window overlooked the beach and our room was very comfortable and clean.Everything was within walking distance,resturants,shops and even a fish and chip shop right beside the hotel.There is no lift so it would be a bit difficult for eldery or if you had a lot of luggage.We travelled light as we were on a Harley davidson and we are thankfully still quite able.We would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewryHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Alpha Ocean is quite basic and far from the historical part of Saint Malo but is convenient as a stopover before catching the morning ferry and is right by the beach. The personnel is friendly and parking is free on the street.
On the minus side I've seen better breakfasts for 8 euro and the rooms are not that cheap. In a nutshell, it was fine for what we needed but I am not sure I'd use it again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms : cheaper, quieter and same view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnioche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

The hotel is right on the beach, but far from Intra Muros. You can drive there, or even take the bus. However, the location and great view from our room could not make for all the other issues we found during our stay. We had two rooms, one facing the beach, sunny but small, the other facing the street, larger, but musty and with a dirty carpet and curtains. I wished the owners would do away with the carpet from the rooms and the stairway - one should know that beach and sand work better on hardwood or tile floors. Some of the carpet areas were disgusting, to say the least. In addition, the musty room had a cheap, plastic sliding door for the bathroom that fell off the rail continuously. The bedsheets were clean, but the rooms were probably not thoroughly cleaned as we found breadcrumbs in the blanket left in the baby cot and some men's pants in the (very small) closet. The bathrooms were clean, but very basic, with no hair-drier. Finally, there is no elevator - very difficult to access higher floors if you have young children or senior persons in your group. If you have a car, you'll have to hunt for a parking space as the hotel has none reserved.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel was easy to find and literally right on the beach! Located in the Rochebonne area, Alpha Ocean was the perfect place to stay for us, a young couple on vacation. The Madame was wonderfully kind and hospitable, and her husband could be seen around during the mornings when helping with breakfast. Simple but satisfying breakfast, clean rooms and overall a great great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiKiTiKiNiKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
#46 of 81 in Saint-Malo
747 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#66 of 81 in Saint-Malo
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#37 of 81 in Saint-Malo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Aubade
Hotel Aubade
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ar Iniz
Hotel Ar Iniz
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha Ocean

Property: Hotel Alpha Ocean
Address: 93 boulevard de Rochebonne, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alpha Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Ocean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing