We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel l'Univers
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a double room. The location of this hotel was perfect. An extremely short walk to restaurants and sights. Breakfast left a little to be desired but the quality of the hotel made up for it. Very friendly staff who spoke perfect English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building for a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    219
    96
    35
    18
See reviews for
73
228
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The breakfast buffet cost €10, but was good value. We stayed for a week and it was a memorable and enjoyable stay. The hotel must be in the classic French style - our room was certainly described as such - and is beautifully situated within the great walls around St Malo old town and with the Hotel de Ville just opposite and the tourist office just outside the walls. The hotel staff were extremely friendly.

There was no coffee-making facility and we felt we would take a small kettle next time. The bathroom was huge but its floor was two steps higher than the bedroom floor - and the plumbing could be improved to get hot water quicker. The restaurant, recommended in my guide book, no longer exists (though there are plenty of restaurants nearby). The only English-language TV channel was CNN.

Room Tip: (There is no swimming pool but the beach is close by. We did not use room service - it may exist.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Third time we have stayed here.
Arrived off the ferry booked in around 9.00am and room ready.
Found the room was on two levels as I tripped on my way to Bathroom! Shower has sliding doors and no handrail or shelves to put anything.
Staff always helpful and happy.
Breakfast not over the top but good enough.
Location by the city walls very good.
All in all a very good hotel and will be returning

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nivekronnoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Room 111
Staff most helpful - we arrived direct from the Brittany Ferries journey a little after 6.30am!!!
Luggage carefully stowed away so we could enjoy the day unloaded

The room was small but comfortable - unusually there was a large step into the ensuite which was problematic when we forgot it was there!

The shower too had a very high step in to t which again was difficult to negotiate.

Clean tidy and fresh.

Quite hotel but the bar downstairs was busy - nice and buzzing.

Breakfast was a standard buffet but beautifully presented

We will be back - but perhaps not in Room 111

Room Tip: Avoid 111 as the intern; steps are problemmatic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went to St Marlo with Brittany ferries for a short break, it started badly crashes on a38 we arrived late to board the ferry,but good old brittany ferries held the ferry until everyone arrived this was great customer service. We had a great cabin on board with complimentary soft drinks bowl of fruit and breakfast all included. We arrived fresh and ready for our break we arrived at hotel very early and check in was supposed to be at 3pm but our room was ready and they let us have it six hrs early the room was small but compact rather dark two days would be the most I would stay in that room but it served its purpose. I would say if you have any mobility problems don't have room 114 as you have to step into the shower over a foot in hight and getting out was a bit dodgy a step is needed. The breakfast was continental ok but I wish there was some bacon. The place itself was magical and worth a visit. The restaurants were great the food was tasty and good value. The bar was busy with a lot of smokers and the door to the hotel was left open and the smoke could be smelt all over

Room Tip: Not the one we had a room at the front are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good little hotel in a perfect spot inside the walled city of Saint Malo. Only a walk away from the ferry terminal and train station. Buses are also just a minutes walk away. We only stayed for a couple of nights en-route from Guernsey to Paris. Wished we had stayed longer though as there is so much to see and do in Saint Malo. Hotel l'Univers provided a clean room with a great shower, unfortunately no air conditioning. Great atmosphere in Saint Malo, with plenty of restaurants, bars, cafe's shops and street entertainment in the area. The hotel has a lift, small but serves its purpose. The receptionists were very helpful as were the bar staff. Free internet which reached our rooms.

I have to say the croissants at breakfast were by far the best I had in France :).

I would be happy to stay at Hotel l'Univers again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great hotel, great town/area!

I'm just knocked out by BRETAGNE! My first call here was in 1972 (!), and I very much forgot about it. Many trips to Galicia, Ireland, Wales and Scotland made me fell in love with the Celtic nature and culture.

Short: This is a very convenient located hotel in the center of town. Clean, good breakfast, friendly, full of ambience, solid, quite simple, but ample with character and a certain style. Exactly my style. You will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#23 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite
Hotel de la Cite
#54 of 81 in Saint-Malo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Univers

Property: Hotel l'Univers
Address: 12 Place Chateaubriand, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Univers
l Univers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing