We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Union
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Coming frorm San Francisco, we really enjoyed our stay at the nice hotel Bristol. Their hosts were very welcoming and very kind. They made sure that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and will go out of their way to make sure of it. They recommended great site seeing and local places to eat. The hotel is really nice, clean and comfortable. It is inside and in the heart of the fortified town so prime location. We highly recommend this great hotel and their excellent hosts that made our stay a perfect one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VoyageurTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, and we had a clean and comfortable room on the first floor overlooking the square. The hotel has been refurbished since our last stay. We got a good rate including breakfast through hotels.com, although the breakfast choice could be improved. St. Malo is always good to visit especially in the summer, I don't think I would ever tire of going there. The Cafe du Coin bar, near to the hotel,with its collection of dolls is different but may be a bit scary for some, but worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Stayed at Bristol Union 18-22 Aug. Had a room on 4th floor. As stated by other reviewers, rooms vary in size, ours was small. An odd feature was the seperate toilet, within the room, not in bathroom. This was so small you had to leave the cubicle door open to use it. Lack of aircon was a problem on a couple of nights as it can get noisy with the window open. Didn't have breakfast, went to the cafes on the Place Chateaubriand which is where the artists set up. Taxi hotel/ airport was 23/ 25 euro depending on traffic.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saintsfan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

This hotel is very centrally located within "Intra Muros". Intra Muros is fantastic with lots of cobbled streets full of shops and bars/restaurants everywhere. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and helped make our stay very pleasant. The room was big, bright and comfortable. It was modern and well fitted out. The en-suite bathroom was clean and modern. Our room overlooked the square which could be noisy at times, but not enough to ruin our stay at the hotel.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it costs approx 9 euro's and we found cheaper breakfast at restaurants close to the hotel. My only complaint would be the size of the lift - it's absolutely tiny! Me and my husband could only just about fit in the lift, so there wasn't any room for our bags, and we had to carry them up the stairs (3 floors!).

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Flanders_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed here as a stop from our ferry from Poole before driving south in to France.

The location of the hotel is fantastic as its very central and near the front gate of the city walls. It is also off the main busy roads so is not too noisy at night.

What makes this hotel is owners and staff who are very friendly and speak good English. They are very happy to help and offer advice where to eat and go - infact nothing is a problem.

The rooms are smallish but this is generally the case for all hotels within the city walls at St Malo. Being 2 star they are basic but are clean and maintained well. The only slight problem was the lift was very small and as a family with young children (and lots of luggage!) this was a bit of a hassle as it involved several lift trips.

They can safely park and store your car which is great and costs 12 euros a night. St Malo is a nightmare to park as controlled parking starts from early morning so you have to be out putting money in the meter early!

A couple more points. Breakfast I would miss here. Its okay but I found the dining area cramped. Its nicer to breakfast in a street cafe nearby. There is no pool or outside space but you will be exploring the wonderful old St Malo all the time so its not a problem.

I really recommend this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dudsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We arrived at the hotel on a Sunday afternon when the town was very busy to be greeted pleasantly by the owner who was clearly expecting us. he was extremely helpful and after unloading, directed us to a nearby car park where we could leave our car. Beware those of you with roofboxes as the car park could not accomodate our friends people carrier andf roof box as the car was too tall.
We had booked a junior suite which was just that - we had two large bedrooms and two bathrooms - perfect after two weeks in a campsite!
In the evening, the owner recommended some good restaurants although the walled town is so beautiful with many restaurants it would probably have been nice to just go for a stroll and pop in somewhere. The service was really excellent and my only gripe is the lack of air-con. At night the rooms were really hot. The owner even sent down a forgotten package to the ferry terminal that our friends had left behind. Will stay longer next time as blown away by St Malo itself.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank GlasgowMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

The Hotel Bristol Union started our holiday off perfectly and ended it perfectly. Marc & Catherine Rethore welcomed us warmly and helped us through-out our stay in St Malo.
The hotel is exceptionally clean & tidy, the staff are lovely and always have a smile. The rooms are also well thought out - we had a family suite allowing us to sleep in a seperate room from the children but with an outer door so they couldn't escape!!!
The hotel offers parking which took the pressure of finding somewhere....we just drove upto the door and unloaded and then Marc took the car and parked it for us.
I would recommend the Hotel Bristol Union to anyone wising to stay in St Malo. A lovely place with a lovely family atmosphere and the ability to make your stay a very pleasent one indeed.
Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank FamilySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#30 of 82 in Saint-Malo
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#54 of 82 in Saint-Malo
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Adresse
L'Adresse
#26 of 82 in Saint-Malo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
551 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
#50 of 82 in Saint-Malo
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#16 of 82 in Saint-Malo
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Union

Address: 4 Place de la Poissonnerie, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#25 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $82 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol Union 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of the historic center of Saint Malo. 27 Rooms with two different ambiances Marine and Contemporaine style. 4 Family Suites for 4 to 5 persons. Renovated in 2014. Close to the Mont Saint Michel, Dinard, Dinan, Cancale and the ferry terminal for Jersey and Guernesey. 3 Minutes to the Congress Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing