We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in St. Malo”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Little Balcony

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
EricH2828
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in St. Malo”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent four days at the Little Balcony apartment in St. Malo. The apartment is located within the walls and provided everything we needed to enjoy a wonderful stay. The apartment is spacious with two large bedrooms, a living room and a fully equipped kitchen. We ate several meals at home so the kitchen was perfect for us.

Our host Annie was the best. It was forecast to be raining when we arrived so she offered to pick us up at the ferry terminal. We had to check out early in the morning so she offered to drive us to the train station. She gave us all the information we needed to fully appreciate all that St. Malo has to offer and was available to help out when needed. If we ever return to St. Malo we would love to stay at the Little Balcony. Highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and thank you for having chosen The Little Balcony. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A fantastic and central location for exploring the delights of St Malo, would highly recommend.
The owner Anne was a very welcoming and friendly host, all facilities within the Little Balcony were top notch.
The beaches and local facilities were absolutely wonderful and will definately be returning in the near future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Perfect guests, thank you for your kind review and you are most welcome any time. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenW554...
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great hostess!”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were on a two week visit to France, We rented an apartment in Paris for one week then this apartment for the second week. Although Annie was not able to meet us at the train station, our mile walk to the apartment was not strenuous and directions to its location were spot on. It was a bit rainy and chilly the week we were there so Annie turned the heat on for us. And, my daughter was not feeling well so even with the heat on, she was cold. Annie told us where a portable heater was located so we could heat up the "reading room" for my daughter. She made her self comfy on the couch with one of the extra comforters.

The apartment is in a great location and Annie was able to give us directions to good places to eat and an awesome bakery where we bough fresh baguettes every morning. We did not use the kitchen much except for breakfast and to keep snacks in the refrigerator. Since we did not bring many clothes, we had to do laundry twice. The laundromat is practically right around the corner. There were instructions in French & English on how to work the machines, which was very helpful.

The apartment above us was being renovated so there was construction noise during the day. They did not start working too early in the morning so it really did not bother us.

There is no more free parking outside the walled city of Saint-Malo. We rented a car for the week but only had to pay for parking during the day -- if we remained in town. And, it wan't that expensive (around 3.20 euro for the day), compared to what one would pay for parking in New York City or Washington, D.C. Though I do think parking on Sunday was free.

We were very happy with this rental and already miss northern France. Someday, maybe we'll get back to this region.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Karen and family, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope that your return to the USA was uneventful and that you do indeed come back one day. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roz W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The apartment is well located and equipped. It is clean, spacious and Annie is a very attentive host. The decor is delightfully colourful and quirky. The kitchen has everything you need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I do hope you come back, you are always most welcome. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
West Ryde
2 reviews
“St Malo Adventure”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just spent a wonderful week in The Little Balcony apartment in St Malo with our two grandchildren. The apartment is ideally situated within the old walls which means it is easily accessible to all the ramparts, beaches and the many restaurants. The ferry across to Dinard proved popular as did the bus trip from just opposite the Information centre to Mont St Michel. The apartment was bright and airiy and well set up for a family or two couples. Our host Annie was at the apartment to meet us and was extremely helpful in suggestions for shopping and sight seeing. thank you for a wonderful stay. Would love to come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
It is such a pleasure hosting wonderful people who enjoy all the apt town and area have to offer. Thank you very much Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Apartment in a beautiful city.”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was good value being off season when i booked it.
it was warm, comfortable and in a great location based in the old walled part of the city.
Take or buy some ear plugs because at night the Xmas revellers make a lot of noise into the early hours - failing that just go out and join them!
Annie was very helpful and accommodating.
All in all a great venue in a beautiful place.
Recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
It is very gratifying to hear when people have a good stay, enjoy the town and are comfortable in the apt. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruthlinn
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient, functional, and well outfitted but be prepared to climb lots of steps and hear pub sounds and music”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very considerate owner. She had good advice and recommendations and stocked the unit so that we felt we could easily enjoy being there.
Remember that 2nd story in Europe is more like third story in US.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you for the review. I hope your memories of St Malo will linger longer. Just Think how fit you are with all those stairs!! 45 steps are so good for the thighs!! All the very best. Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing