We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but with low English skills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Youth Hostel Patrick Varangot
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My first contact with the hostel was rather disappointing - I sent them an e-mail in English informing on my late arrival and received an answer in French. I spent two nights there and I met only one English-speaking receptionist. The hostel is located 20 minutes by foot from the railway station and is rather easy to miss from the street. Apart from the booking fee you have to have youth hostel card to stay there for the night (approx. 10 EUR, available at the hostel). Rooms are OK, breakfast is also good. There is free wi-fi and one hotspot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were here in 2010 nearing the end of our trek to the Channel Islands from New Zealand, and this was possibly the best hostel we stayed at, with the possible exception of the Syndey Rocks YHA.
It's a wee way out of town, but it is very quiet, has great self catering facilities and has lovely, helpful staff.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENZEDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The room was not very clean, and the bathroom in particular needed attention. Reserving a room was difficult and not very efficient. The side with the parking lot closes early which can be a problem given that it is located far from the city centre. France has much better hostels than this.

Some buildings look more recently renovated than others, so perhaps a better experience is possible, and therefore a better value than our experience.

Breakfast was OK, but nothing stunning.

Room Tip: Ask if there are newly renovated ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Centre Patrick Varangot last weekend. What we liked:
(a) the (private) room given to us was spotlessly clean, and was much more spacious than, say, a room at an Ibis.
(b) we paid 41 Euros a night for the room. That's a steal !
(c) the staff were very friendly and all of them (at the reception) spoke fluent English.
(d) the beach is a few minutes away from the hostel.
(e) The intramuros (walled city) is about 20 minutes away on foot.
(f) There is a Carrefour, a tabac and a great bakery within 5 minutes walking distance
(g) There is a lot of open space inside the centre, unlike some of the "compact" and box like hotels nearby
On the flip side,
(a) the official breakfast time ends at 9:15 am, but sometimes, the bread/coffee runs out by that time (specially if they had a large group check in the eve before)
(b) some of the rooms , like ours, overlook a (moderately) busy street, so if you are light sleeper, you may be woken up by the noise of the traffic before you intend to.

Overall, I would say I had a very pleasant stay. Would not mind staying here again if I ever visit St Malo again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carpe_diem_179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arnaud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Urlaubsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: cote parking un peu plus calme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arnaud59580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha Ocean
Hotel Alpha Ocean
#62 of 82 in Saint-Malo
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
3.9 mi away
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jou...
#3 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,874 reviews
3.9 mi away
B&B Saint-Malo Sud
B&B Saint-Malo Sud
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Patrick Varangot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Patrick Varangot

Address: 37 Ave du RP Umbricht | Bp 108, 35407, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $56 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing