We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a camping holiday on the way back to the UK. It was exactly what we needed. Nice rooms with comfy beds and a lovely shower. The location is just outside the old town walls which to me is perfect as the hotel looks out over the beach.
Down sides - the pnly one I can really think about is the breakfasts which weren't great for the 15 euros that it cost. Toast and boiled eggs had to be cooked and there was only a two slice toaster and a very strange boiled egg cooker to achieve this on. Too fiddly for me!
Other than that one downside I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    559
    85
    23
    8
See reviews for
214
1,041
37
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent hotel to end what was a great trip, we had stayed in several places over the previous days and travelled alot of miles so it was a lovely way to end with a room and a sea view with really good facilities. This is a very modern hotel and very clean and tidy, we also made use of the underground parking facilities for our motorcycles. Very convenient being so close to the walled city where we could find a restaurant for that evening. Breakfast was excellent with alot of choice, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Second time I ahve stayed in St.Malo, but first time at this hotel,its pretty new and in a great location fronting the sea.It has the additional benefit of underground parking ( be carefull you can't book it and its limited)
Beds were superb really comfortable.
Whist you can only get bed and breakfast, dinner options are terrific as you a couple hundred yards from Intra Muros the opld walled town where there are plenty of restaurants.
Staff exteremly helpful and courteus.

Room Tip: Those facing the sea do have a balcony, beware there is a busy road between the hotel and the sea, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmviewavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I along with a large group of ladies have just returned from a stay in the Oceania Hotel. The hotel is an excellent position I stayed in an twin room with a spacious balcony, lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and good quality bed linen.. Breakfast was a feast to behold, absolutely everything you could want to see on a breakfast buffet. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel next to St Malo intra-muros with a sea view, Oceania is your only option. We started our trip by booking at the wrong hotel, the Escale Oceania which is much cheaper and of poorer quality (beware, both hotels are in the same street and bear the same name!). We quickly relocated at the "real" Oceania in a wonderful room with unbelievable sea view. We booked off-season so rooms are very affordable. Service is flawless, rooms are clean and comfortable, there is even an outdoor jacuzzi to relax after walking the wonderful city of St Malo all day long. Breakfast is ok but I am sure there are better options around. Oceania St Malo is the best of both worlds, outside of intra-muros so overlooking the sea yet a walking distance from the historical city. Very safe choice to start with La cité corsaire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alencon, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beware the Oceania website. There are two Oceania hotels in St Malo, in the same road. The escale oceania is the poor relation (tatty, and worn out) and can easily be booked by mistake.The staff then pretend the hotels are independant and only by insisting did they grudgingly help me rebook to the four star oceania. The receptionist said no-one else confused the two hotels, then when I was at reception a woman came in saying she had confused the two hotels also....
Anyway the oceania hotel is also disappointing. The barman was hopeless and we walked out after waiting an age to get a drink. I also don't know why they can't provide a courtesy tray in the rooms to make a drink. We had the breakfast early and so avoided the later bunfight for the buffet breakfast laid out in the bar. It was very cramped and they set up an overspill in a conference room which just seemed poor design. The balcony design means the neighbouring room can look straight into your room from their balcony. The hotel TA replies say that the design make the most of the sea views but it is just stupid design. There is a hot tub stuck in an interior courtyard for anyone who wants to sit in a tub in view of everyone but again I reckon the person who designed the hotel just had a very bad day at the office. Hotels in St Malo don't have to try that hard - people just keep going there, but it is a shame when the hotels don't try.
It should all be so much better. Perhaps there are other hotels who are trying. We won't be back to either Oceania.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed two separate nights in December, in transit between Jersey and the south of France. Good location for the old town.

Rooms clean and maybe rather basic but well-appointed bathrooms though my wife found the frosted glass partitions disconcerting! Separate toilets. I imagine some rooms could be noisy especially near the lifts and /or facing the main road.

The big plus is the staff - unfaiingly pleasant, courteous and helpful.

Sunday morning breakfast rather hectic due to sheer numbers of people but staff worked hard to seat newcomers.

Room Tip: Stay away from lifts and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.7 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#22 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania Saint Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania Saint Malo

Property: Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Address: Chaussee du Sillon 2 rue Joseph Loth | Chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oceania Saint Malo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceania Saint Malo hotel is located on the beachfront, opposite the Sillon Beach. It offers luxurious rooms and an outdoor jacuzzi. Guest rooms at the Oceania are modern and air-conditioned. They include parquet floor, duvet, flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, and a spacious bathroom. They offer a view of the walled city or the sea. The terrace has a panoramic sea view. The open-air jacuzzi, located on the patio is a good place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oceania Saint Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Saint Malo Hotel
Oceania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing