We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel the beat location right outside of the walls of intra muras, you can walk in and out of the walled city and have a hotel right in front of the ocean with a great cool breeze , hotel very clean and compy... Would stay here again, loves it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lela#1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    588
    89
    24
    8
See reviews for
221
1,099
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Cool location in front of the beach, probably the best location on waterfront a few steps from old city. But you should choose only seaview rooms, otherwise there is no sense staying there. Staff was slow, but if you perceive the place as city hotel it’s ok. The only obvious disadvantage is claustrophobic parking. Thanks god we had parktronic!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was the best hotel I ever stayed at. We also got a room with a big balcony with sea view from the bed! I really liked how it was decorated. I just long back there. This was the first hotel we stayed at on our trip and nothing could compare with it. The breakfast was good to be in France and you could eat breakfast until 10.30. Fee wifi. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marietunik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

It's true that this hotel has a great location and fantastic view! What disappointed me was that, frankly, for the price, I expected a few more ammenities. What was there was fine, it's what wasn't there that bothered me.

We reserved a romantic weekend and booked the best room available - for a grand total of over 700€ (breakfast included, luckily). That is not a meager sum! The room was a bit on the small side, but the bedding comfortable and lovely, and wow! What a view! The unobstructed view of the ocean is truly spectacular. The bathroom is gorgeous, and the hardwood floors stunning. Looked great.

As for what was missing, I have really come to expect for hotels of this calibur to have both everything necessary to make tea and coffee, and a minibar! There was nothing to make coffee or tea and no minibar at all - only room service which closes at about 10pm.

We arrived quite late and would have relished a night cap à deux out on the deck after the 4 hour drive from Paris. But with no minibar in sight, that wasn't possible. In the afternoon, I would really have loved to make myself a cup of tea without calling room service. And sometimes it's just nice to have a fresh bottle of juice or a soda on hand. It just seems like a no-brainer that there should be both of these things.

Again, along the line of what the hotel does not have, is a steam and/or sauna room with some extended hours. There is a gym and there's a hot tub that closes at 10 (a little early, i find). But because we were out and about, we didn't get the chance to even try the jacuzzi (although it's location is a bit awkward and we never saw anyone in there.

So my beef with this place is that for that price, it seems like there should have been more... More comforts, more ammenities, more services.

We did not use the parking lot because we found ample street parking - but at check-out they were going to tack it onto the price. When I pay 350€ for a hotel room, I kind of assume parking might be thrown in for free? That's a bit much.

The breakfast was good, but nothing to rave about.

To sum it up,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We paid a lot for this hotel, since our average budget was about $90 Euros a night.
We had a lot of trouble getting accommodation cos every person in France was in Saint Malo for the bank holiday weekend. However, after almost two months traveling it was sheer relief to stay in this hotel for the night. I can't fault the room, it's cleanliness, and the excellent bathroom. The staff were delightful and we were given a complimentary breakfast. People were so kind to us in France. The hotel has a spa too. All this was too wonderful for my over sized arthritic body; a big spacious walk in shower, a firm but not hard bed which was not too high off the ground, and a spa in the main courtyard (made private with shrubs), that was not too difficult to get in and out of because of the design of the steps. The kind German staff member ensured that I had some nice big fluffy towels for the spa when they didn't have a 3x size robe. It was wonderful to have our luggage taken to our room and to have an elevator right near our door (which was not even noisy). We had a smallish room with a glimpse of the sea from our window, but it was such a short walking distance to the sea we didn't need a view. In fact we sat for our wonderful breakfast enjoying the view of the island fortress across the road from the hotel. I guess you get what you pay for. Even so, I did find this hotel very nice to be in, with extra caring staff. If this hotel is in your budget, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with a view, ask for a room that faces the sea. If you have a disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Oceania for 3 nights.
Location is good, it is a 5 minute walk from the old town which is just perfect for all the restaurants and sight seeing.
Parking was a bit of a nightmare when we arrived, we had booked parking at the hotel, however there was a lot of confusion over whether we had a reserved room, (the same thing happened each time we left the car park each day) it wasnt a major problem, just a bit irritating after a long days drive.
Staff in general were helpful. I have to say big compliments to the gentlemen who runs the bar, he was probably the best barman i have ever been served by, he was helpful, friendly and could not do enough for us... and made the best cocktails!
The view from the bar is amazing, especially watching the sun set over the beach.
Our room was ok, modern with a comfortable bed, a balcony which over looked the front of the hotel (side street) and also the beach.
The bathroom (shower and sink) was clean and very modern, however there was an overwhelming smell of sewage, the same was true for the toilet (seperate to the bathroom).
I would possibly stay here again. I thought parking was expensive 15 euros a night. Unfortunately parking on the street was not possible as there was a big event on just opposite.
Drinks in the bar were expensive- although i expected that.
We did not have breakfast as that was 15 euros per person and we did not feel this was worth it.
On arrival, i was shocked at the outside of the building, it was not what i expected at all. I imagined it was be modern like the inside, but it really is not- do not let this put you off though!

In conclusion, a nice modern hotel, however a bit too pricey for what they have to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel_a_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My sister and I went on a car road trip to France for a week and had the pleasure staying at Oceania Hotel Saint Malo for a night, (not Escale Oceania). I would highly recommend this hotel; it is brilliantly located only 5 minutes walk from the medieval town along the seaside. So close to the hustle-bustle, but yet quite.
The Hotel rooms very clean and Hotel’s decor is very modern. The staffs were very friendly and accommodating, i.e. the requests for late check-out, to request for room-upgrade to sea-view (with balcony) were not met with annoyance.
If you stay in Saint Malo, Hotel Oceania would be ideal. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HinaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,529 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#24 of 81 in Saint-Malo
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania Saint Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania Saint Malo

Property: Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Address: Chaussee du Sillon 2 rue Joseph Loth | Chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oceania Saint Malo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceania Saint Malo hotel is located on the beachfront, opposite the Sillon Beach. It offers luxurious rooms and an outdoor jacuzzi. Guest rooms at the Oceania are modern and air-conditioned. They include parquet floor, duvet, flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, and a spacious bathroom. They offer a view of the walled city or the sea. The terrace has a panoramic sea view. The open-air jacuzzi, located on the patio is a good place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Oceania Saint Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Saint Malo Hotel
Oceania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing