We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison des Armateurs
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is ideally located within the walled city. It is just steps to all the restaurants, steps to the parking lot outside the walls, steps to the beach. You can buy a parking ticket from the hotel for 6 euros/day when checking in and before you take your car to a parking lot. Keep in mind that the night parking in Saint-Malo is free (from 7 pm till 9 am). There is also some parking available around Ibis hotel. We booked a lieutenant’s room and got room 408 at first. It is a weird room with toilet in one corner and the sink and the shower (without a door) in the opposite corner of the room. The next morning we asked to be transferred and got room 405, which was just perfect. If you are on the 4th floor, there is no street noise. There is a safe in the room, a mini fridge, an electric kettle, so you can make your tea or instant coffee. They give you two bottles of water free. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. There are choices for breakfast nearby or you can just buy a croissant and have it with your tea/coffee in the room. The bed was very comfy and all in all the room was quite large and convenient. The bathroom, however, had only a shower, no bath tub. Interestingly enough, the cheapest room – standard – has a HUGE bathroom with the tub. But then you basically get 4 walls around the bed and some space in front of TV. The hotel provides plenty of toiletries - shower gel, soap, body lotion and shampoo, all of which are of good quality, by the way. If you book well in advance you get a significant discount, so it is worth it. I believe it is the best hotel within the walled city, clean, modern, with pretty large renovated rooms. I would definitely stay here again. No complaints what so ever! And did I mention? – The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful, English speaking also.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel very well-located although intramuro is after all tiny, but this is just 20m from the parking lot, which is great. Helpful and friendly staff, with a good command of English. Spacious bedroom and bathroom, modern shower, comfy bed. Nothing negative about this hotel! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ylean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We only stayed for one night but loved this hotel. The whole place has been refurbished in a very classy modern style. there is a lift to your floor and a nice reception with little book lending library. there is a bar leading onto the breakfast room. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was very nice for the continental selection with less if you wanted cooked breakfast. There is no parking at the hotel but it is near one of the entrances out of the old town and there is a carpark right outside that is free between 7pm to 9am. Everythinig in the old town is close and you do not need to go very far at all to eat out. there is free internet and the staff were polite. The hotel is quiet as there are few cars in the old town and you are far enough away from the main square that is a bit more busy in the evening

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a wonderful Hotel , with lovely rooms and very well positioned in the Old Town , or inter muros. Howver , it is their staff which makes me want to write this review . Nothing was too much trouble , they were helpful throughout, most especially with the chopping and changing during the booking process . But in person they were lovely .

On my future trips to Saint Malo , this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairfax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A very friendly and welcoming hotel, the room was of good size with all modern facilities and very clean. Breakfast was good and served buffet style in relaxed the dining room. The location inside the walls of Intra Muros City was excellent and easy to find. Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0urist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, modern (in a tasteful way) and welcoming. Its location is perfect in Saint-Malo "intra-muros". The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. We could not have chosen a better place to spend a long week-end in Saint-Malo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aventure73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a thoroughly modern hotel in the heart of St. Malo old city. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms are modern, quiet and comfortable. When we return we won't think twice about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,915 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#27 of 82 in Saint-Malo
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Armateurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Armateurs

Address: 6 Grand rue, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $104 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison des Armateurs 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Maison des Armateurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing