We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveler rating
396
480
186
95
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
396
480
186
95
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateaubriand sea view the main square historic hotel perfect location hotel de ville intra muros breakfast room is within the walls french hotel old city public areas walled city lovely hotel bars and restaurants great shower thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019

This is the best situated hotel on the walled city. The rooms and en suite bathrooms are comfortable and clean. Parking is a problem. Skip the breakfast. It is not up to the quality and variety you would expect.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DHGMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Cannot fault anything warm and friendly . Service, bedroom or restaurant all excellent . Hoping to host a weekend next year with family. Can recommend wines and aperitifs served on terrace overlooking lively square.

Room tip: We had twin at back of hotel lovely sea view
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 725Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

This hotel is in a beautiful location but it is getting increasingly expensive. I will reluctantly be going elsewhere in the future. The breakfast has a wide choice, but is strangely quirky. There was some smoked bacon and scrambled eggs but these were stone cold - not appetising. The jam was strangely bitter. I know our health is important but jam is made with sugar, the tea bags were in a strange muslin/plastic which meant they did not infuse. Either that or they are very weak. The Nespresso machine was a strange idea, as you don't always want a massive ingestion of caffeine. Seems, like the jam and the tea bags more to do with seeming "trendy" than efficacy

Room tip: It can be quite hot in the room is my only slight criticism really.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pioneer1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

If you are a fan of French history and culture then this is a great place to spend a few nights. The location is stunning and the sense of history palpable. There are little foibles but you must expect some in such a place and it is French so a little style over function is to be expected. The hotel car parking is just around the corner and very safe (including from sea spray- unlike some other parking spaces!) But do not use it if your car hangs low or you may leave your exhaust behind.
Most rooms seem to have a view, the poshest rooms look superb with stunning views and even though our room looked out over the fort it also looked over the beach. The breakfast room is jaw dropping and gives a real feel for history.

Room tip: The seaview rooms have stunning views however it is difficult to imagine any room doesn't have a view.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidpepper2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Had a great stay in this lovely old hotel in the heart of St Malo old city. The staff were very pleasant and all spoke very good English. We only took the breakfast one morning out of our five, but it was adequate with a good choice but perhaps a bit pricey at 12 euros each. It was fairly noisy in the mornings outside with deliveries and street cleaning etc but this was not a problem really for us but may be for others. Both check in and out were quick and efficient however the city tax amounted to 84 euros for five nights which was more than expected but did not detract from what we felt was a very good price for the five nights at this lovely hotel. I will definitely be returning here in the near future.

Room tip: Rooms 254 and 256 which are both corner rooms are very spacious.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 5robertf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews