We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, traditional food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taverne Bretonne

La Taverne Bretonne
Ranked #324 of 373 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Horsham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value, traditional food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

St Malo was very busy on our visit with a major arts festival in town, therefore it was difficult to find a place in a restaurant.

There was clearly more upmarket places on the main restaurant drag but this one had a good traditional menu. The fish soup, moules frites and an excellent dessert, washed down with local cider at a great price, hit the spot for two hungry cyclists who had travelled, laden with heavy panniers, 180 miles in 2 days.

Traditional food, good prices, who could ask for more

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Braveheart_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    32
    42
    242
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I Loved the Galettes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Saint Malo is a charming city and the specialite over there is lovely, we had our dinner at taverne bretonne and was superb, we were lucky was not so busy so we had a great service, had some oysters to start....was so good, the galette was very tasty and the crepe caramel beurre sale was so yummy.... was a pleasant evening!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nowelljohn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother with La Taverne Bretonne, there is so much better in St Malo so close.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We arrived in St Malo looking for somewhere to take the kids in the evening. We selected randomly and lived to regret the choice. The service was truly awful, the food was a disgrace (cold sauces, no selection, missed orders, glacially slow service, poor communication & I speak pretty good French). 6 oysters turned into 5 Nr the size of small Peas. I was told off in the most arrogant manner I can imagine when I dared question; the kids even started crying....If trip advisor would let me score zero I would. If they could improve great but this is some way off.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PequodPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO. Hopeless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

These guys make Fawlty look good. It took 30 mins from being seated to taking our drinks order. Another 15 before the drinks arrived. Most of our choices were unavailable. We should have used this as an excuse to leave, but it was late and we have kids. We finally found something they could make. My husband ordered 6 oysters. 5 arrived and they were inedible. They then forgot to bring my meal. And a bottle of wine. The worst part was they showed absolutely no remorse at all and just wailed that 'thats the way it is'. Horrible horrible. The kids were crying.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clare488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty galletes and very good crepes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

One of our favorites place in france is Saint malo, really charming city......and for sure our favorite creperie over there is taverne bretonne, it's the second time we went there and the food was really good, we had some oysters as starter and was very fresh, i think britanny is the best place to eat oyster in france.....then we had a gallete as a main and crepe as dessert, both were very tasty and yummy!! for sure we will be back to saint malo and to la taverne bretonne!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edu_cecatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne Bretonne also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to La Taverne Bretonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing