We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for the price...”
Review of Hotel Aubade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aubade
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Location was ok, in the middle between the centre and the train station. Staff basically doesn't speak english, only 1 of them. Room was a bit small and had the weirdest wardrobe I've ever seen-or more haven't seen, since it actually wasn't a wardrobe but just a few big plastic hangers hanging down from the ceiling... We stayed there for 2 nights. The breakfast was supposed to be till 10.30. When we got there at 10.00, there was no more breakfast anymore. The receptionist asked us if we would like some, so we said yes. 15 euros for couple slices of toast, some ham, butter and jam and a coffee...
when I was booking the hotel, I had to submit my card details (which is normal). We also payed for the whole stay when we were leaving and of course they charged us twice. My only luck was, that I had french speaking colleague who helped me to sort it out and actually they told her, that it already happened a few times before...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsh061116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

At the time of our reservation no 4 or 5 star hotels were available in St. Malo. We found Aubade and was OK. Not short but still walking distance from historical centre along the beach. New building, modern small rooms, grey decorations in the room. Friendly and very helpful receptionist helped us to reserve a table in a Michelin starred restaurant for the same evening.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boldizsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed here for one night, primarily because it was advertised as having wi-fi and parking, plus it was close to the city center. The room (#33) was nice, clean, and trendy looking. We felt there was plenty of space for us, but it was not a very large room. Parking was available outside the hotel, as advertised. It was about a 5-10 minute walk into town, and the walk is nice since you can walk along the seafront. The manager of the hotel was nice and helpful, and recommended a nice restaurant to us which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Even though the hotel is on a main road, it was quiet. Our room even faced the main intersection and we were unable to hear car noise at all. The interior walls also seemed to have good soundproofing, as we were not able to hear any of the neighboring rooms (which was a nice change of pace from our recent experiences in Italy)

For the price, we wish we would have stayed in the city center (we paid EUR111). We thought parking would be a nightmare, but it seems that is only the case in July and August. There was parking available just outside the city walls, and access to the hotels within the walls would have been simple (unless you have a lot of luggage..we travel light).

If we were visiting St Malo in July or August, we would stay here again and would recommend it to people that are concerned about parking near the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCP-GDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We were given a very large room, meant for handicapped. The hotel itself was nice, although no wireless internet as advertised. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the walled city.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Recoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Second time at the Aubade, which was comfortable as usual, clean rooms, overlooking harbour as requested. Easy to park outside hotel. Continental breakfast, very nice. Shame Captain Malo's next door was closed due to refurbishment but found a lovely creperie and friendly bar nearby. Will be back to Aubade, it's so comfortable and convenient for the ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burn-Rubber-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Booked through Brittany ferries after people suggested this would be cheaper than booking through a different site and it was! By booking through these breakfast was included in the price.

Rooms were small but comfortable. They were modern, decorated in chocolate and lime.

Although staff didn't speak the best English they were all extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was nice with a choice of fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal (1 type), ham, cheese, pastries, cakes, toast, jams and a selection of drinks. I wouldn't have paid extra for it though if it hadn't been included in the price.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the walled part of the city, which was not a problem and made a nice stroll after eating all the delicious French food!

Towels, toiletries and bedding were changed on a daily basis.

There was building work going on outside our bedroom window, they worked Mon to Fri between 8am and 5pm. This was nothing to do with our hotel and did not prove to be a problem for us.

There was not much space to store your clothes, apart from about 6 hangers hanging from the ceiling at the end of the bed.

Roome needed a dust and hooks on the wall were hanging off. There was a wonky shelf in the bathroom.

Excellent shower though! Also had flat screen tv and free internet access in the room.

Free car park was a bonus. We never struggled to get a space either on the car park or just at the side of it on the street.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CathrynManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Very small room. (cant walk past eachother)

Very pleasant staff.

Expensive for what you get.

Bathroom nice.

Cigarette/cigar smelling reception.

Very central.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Conners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aubade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aubade

Address: 8 Place du Guesclin, 35400, Saint-Malo, France (Formerly Hotel Albatros)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $67 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aubade 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Audacity exists! Entirely re-designed in 2006, Aubade fulfills all your expectations. Ideally situated, so chose to leave your car in the hotel park free of charge, the port, beaches and ramparts are all within walking distance, as is the casino and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Aubade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aubade Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing