We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MLO196
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 880 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We overnight end at the Mercure last week . The room was excellent with a lovely sea view. Staff very courteous and helpful. Leaving early in the morning the night receptionist offered us a coffee even though we had not ordered breakfast as we were too early. Location is great only 10 minutes walk from the old town. Will definitely go again

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is amszing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

At 100 or 150 Eu per night I would rate this as an average place, bit tired but clean. However, I paid 200 EU per night room only so my expectations are very high......I stay in Tokyo, London, NY for less at class hotels so at this price you better be very good or you are open to constructive criticism ....in this case it is the latter. Lets start with the positive . Location is good. But that is it. The room was small and tired with a strange aroma, we could not decide but maybe someone had been ill and it was not quite cleaned up well enough. The furniture was maybe IKEAs cheap range and the wardrobe was so small and so in accessible only one person could access this at a time. We had 7 hangers so that is 3.5 each, not enough. This is a badged and sold as a Mercure Privilege room ....but no mini bar, no safe, and no arm chairs to relax in. The nespresso machine was really good but they did not replace the pods so on day 2 we had no coffee choice and the cups were not even washed out. Staff all seem very nice and friendly and this review does not in anyway reflect on them. We paid the price and we are totally Ok with this but as I said you need to be really good at this price point ..... So you might guess we skipped the 30 eu per day (15 EU per person) breakfast ..... Can't believe 200eu only gets room only but it is high season and supply and demand economics are at play. I would say for this price it is LE Grand RIp off par excellence. I would not recommend this place at this price point at all.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186332Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We came on a deal with Brittany Ferries,worth every penny,Hotel is right on sea front and a very quiet location but only about 10mins walk from the walled town of St Malo
we got there about 8-30am to ask if we could leave bags,but told room was ready and we could go straight up, and then come down for breakfast which was still being served which has NEVER happened before anywhere in the World
We were very impressed,
when we came down for B/fast the bread and croissants were just coming out of oven,just wonderful,
Hotel is very bright and very clean,room lovely with comfy bed and lovely bathroom and we had a sea view, there is also a small bar area all the staff were very helpful and pleasant and welcoming
there is also a small courtyard garden which is a nice touch
We would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very nice hotel with very helpful staff. Great location overlooking the beach and about 10 minutes walk from the old town. Rooms were a decent size, comfortable and clean. There's a lack of homeliness to it, but that's a very slight issue as it does the job perfectly

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank eldera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Nice view from the third floor over looking the beach. Everything was clean, bed very comfortable and room (triple) a very good size. Friendly front desk and a good location close to the city gates. Only downside was no mini bar or safe in room, the latter is a little disappointing for a four star hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank GulliverFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is rated as a 3 star...however...it is in France and as such should be a 3*+.. Why? The rooms may be small and compact but they are extremely clean, tea and coffee making facilities ( a rare thing whilst travelling through France) excellent hair dryer, free wifi , iron on request, complementary water, 24 hr room service, off street parking which is free and plentiful. Breakfast is grt...hot limited buffet and you can boil your own eggs ...so no room for complaints...lol.The continental has everything you could wish for plus they have an Organic section...breakfast can be delivered to your room up to 12....so they really do tick all the boxes . What makes this place so special is the staff...they all go that little bit extra...First time to St Malo...what a gem...and what a gem of a hotel at such a reasonable price....this was on business...will come back as a couple....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1965MotherGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.6 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#23 of 82 in Saint-Malo
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer

Address: 36 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#9 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $74 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer overlooks the main beach, 5 minutes walk from the Corsair City and 20 min from the TGV train station and the port. Book one of our standard or sea view rooms. In winter St Malo offers peace and quiet, long walks or bicycle rides and spectacular tides. In summer music fills the streets with life and visitors can enjoy the beaches, water activities and golf. For your meetings, the hotel offers a small room for up to 10 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Malo Front De Mer Hotel Saint-Malo
Mercure Saint Malo
Mercure Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing