We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit business-like, but still good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit business-like, but still good”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with very helpful staff. Great location overlooking the beach and about 10 minutes walk from the old town. Rooms were a decent size, comfortable and clean. There's a lack of homeliness to it, but that's a very slight issue as it does the job perfectly

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eldera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    404
    155
    30
    15
See reviews for
134
495
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good hotel. Nice view from the third floor over looking the beach. Everything was clean, bed very comfortable and room (triple) a very good size. Friendly front desk and a good location close to the city gates. Only downside was no mini bar or safe in room, the latter is a little disappointing for a four star hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GulliverFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is rated as a 3 star...however...it is in France and as such should be a 3*+.. Why? The rooms may be small and compact but they are extremely clean, tea and coffee making facilities ( a rare thing whilst travelling through France) excellent hair dryer, free wifi , iron on request, complementary water, 24 hr room service, off street parking which is free and plentiful. Breakfast is grt...hot limited buffet and you can boil your own eggs ...so no room for complaints...lol.The continental has everything you could wish for plus they have an Organic section...breakfast can be delivered to your room up to 12....so they really do tick all the boxes . What makes this place so special is the staff...they all go that little bit extra...First time to St Malo...what a gem...and what a gem of a hotel at such a reasonable price....this was on business...will come back as a couple....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965MotherGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for the final night of our holiday before catching the ferry home. It's very convenient, being only a 5 minute drive from the ferry terminal and is on the seafront only a few minutes walk from the old town. The reception staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. Our room was spacious with a very comfy bed. We didn't bother with breakfast as we like to have breakfast on the ferry. The only problem was finding somewhere to park the car when we arrived. It was a Sunday afternoon and all the parking spaces close to the hotel were full with people visiting the beach. We ended up parking about half a mile away. Later in the day we were able to move our car close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for the night before we took the ferry home. The location is ideal and we parked right outside the hotel. (It's also a two minute drive to the ferry port).

We had a side room that still managed a see view which wasn't too noisy with the window open.

The hotel is great, the staff we friendly and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very nice room, well equipped, with a great view. Great service, very helpful staff, and the breakfast was wonderful. The hotel is conveniently located close to the old city and only 10 minutes from the train station. Make sure you get a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the back street. Make sure you get the room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euro_traveller188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-June as part of a road-trip around northern France, and were pleasantly surprised by what excellent value for money this hotel is. While we didn't get a sea view, the room was the best we stayed in on our entire trip: immaculately clean with excellent facilities and super quiet and tranquil. A 5-10 minute walk from the beautiful St Malo old town, with plenty of free parking available on the road just outside. The staff were extremely friendly; we locked ourselves out of the room one night and they were very patient in understanding my very bad French, and helped us out straight away. Breakfast was plentiful, with very friendly service and lots of options to choose from. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a limited budget but not willing to compromise on quality! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pint_size_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#25 of 81 in Saint-Malo
804 reviews
0.6 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#38 of 81 in Saint-Malo
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer

Property: Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Address: 36 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#9 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer overlooks the main beach, 5 minutes walk from the Corsair City and 20 min from the TGV train station and the port. Book one of our standard or sea view rooms. In winter St Malo offers peace and quiet, long walks or bicycle rides and spectacular tides. In summer music fills the streets with life and visitors can enjoy the beaches, water activities and golf. For your meetings, the hotel offers a small room for up to 10 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Malo Front De Mer Hotel Saint-Malo
Mercure Saint Malo
Mercure Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing