We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Nouveau Monde

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spacious and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a rather cramped hotel of Paris, I found the space and light of this hotel real pleasure. My room had a side view o the ocean, but the sound an smell of the sea were a real bonus. The room was huge, with all the conveniences one could want, and the bathroom similarly well equipped. Real plus point is the swimming pool, which is really more of a spa bath, with a variety of whirlpools and geysers -– very refreshing and invigorating.
The breakfast is extensive and delicious, and the service top class.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    391
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
195
861
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel will satisfy all you could reasonably require on holiday. It is well located for access to the old town, and provides parking (at a price!). The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room, overlooking the city, was comfortable and well equipped, except there was no ventilation in the toilet and you had to be a genius to work out how to empty the bathroom sink. We did not eat at the hotel, preferring to find local fare.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea may be noisier from the road below rather than the rooms at the rear of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel as a base to visit Brittany and was not expecting much given that the hotel was less than a year old and great hotels usually are older (for them to acquire a good reputation). To our happy surprise, the service was remarkable! The politeness and attention to detail of the staff were in line with what we would expect from a 4-5 star hotel (but not always found in France). Since the hotel is new, it goes without saying that the place is sparkling clean: the bed was firm and the room was comfy. The restaurant and bar were inviting (which is not always the case in large hotels). We tried and enjoyed both and were happy not to have to go outside to some unknown restaurant when tired after a long day visiting around. Keeping the best for last: the hotel is directly on the ocean so the view is really nice, if it ever gets sunny in that region... In short: we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Proulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a lovely new hotel with pristine rooms. It is incredibly smart, clean and in a fantastic location. I travelled here with a young baby and was really impressed to find our room decked out with a cot, baby's sleeping bag, bottle warmer and changing mat which was a very pleasant surprise. The staff were great at sterilising bottles anytime I asked too. The only let down was that I was given a room with a shower and that had a sink with no plug - not ideal when wanting to bath a baby! The room was nice however the bed quite hard which isn't ideal if your not used to a hard bed. The food in the hotel was excellent my only real annoyance was that I wanted to order oysters at dinner and was told that they would only serve them to me in the bar. When I asked why I was told that if I had them in the dining room other guests would want them too - sorry to sound like an idiot, but so what if other guests want to eat oysters, at least they're being sold!! Anyhow, absolutely ridiculous but I was made to leave the dining room and my mother and baby while I ate my oysters alone in the bar!! Other than that little episode a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled to St Malo for a long weekend and decided to stay in Hotel Le Nouveau Monde. Great little hotel in a perfect location with super friendly staff! Will definitely return and will definitely recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: A 'Side sea view' room gives a sea view without the 'front sea view' prices =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came here because we were unable to book a room at Le Grand Hotel des Thermes and I am delighted we did. Although it isn't on the beach like the Grand Hotel des Thermes, being closer to the walled town and just across the road from the beach, the price is more reasonable, the hotel is of a high standard (particularly for a hotel in St Malo), and the more modern decor makes the atmosphere relaxed but less jaded than at Le Grand Hotel des Thermes. It has secure parking and our airy and comfortable room has a great view of the beach. The staff are friendly and professional too.

There is a small thalossatherapy pool on the top floor and three hamman rooms with a small balcony outside - a pleasant area to relax. The menu for the restaurant looks lovely with langoustines on the menu and sea bass steamed with vanilla but we didn't eat here (wish we had). Breakfast was good. The restaurant has big windows overlooking the beach.

They supply les Grand Hotel des Thermes products in the rooms too. I was surprised to see the shampoo and shower gels contain SLS which makes me more glad I didn't stay at there - for me, the sign of a good spa hotel is one that doesn't have sodium laureate sulfate in its products.

All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scribblescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Should preface this review by saying that everyone likes a different type of hotel. Some like traditional, quaint, the personal interaction with the owners etc. I'm afraid I mostly like my hotels to be modern, have good facilities where everything works. With this in mind I found the Hotel Le Nouveau Monde a perfect hotel for a short break away. The hotel is modern, good facilities lovely if expensive bar and what looked like a decent restaurant. There is a very. nice swimming pool area on top floor. Staff were very friendly and a credit to hotel. Its about a ten minute walk along seafront to the 'old town' Have no difficulty recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.8 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.0 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nouveau Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nouveau Monde

Property: Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Address: 64, Chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Nouveau Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Nouveau Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing