We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As with other reports, staff friendly, helpful and always courteous. Parking not a problem as hotel is situated close to one of the gates in the City Wall and public parking is adequate just outside the Wall. Hotel sold us a discount parking ticket. Our room was clean and well maintained. Comfortable bed, large bathroom with all necessities and TV with about 50 stations in various languages.
Breakfast was served over a four hour period to suit everyone. Quality of breakfast very good (continental style) - as you would expect in France.
Location very close to ferry terminal - in fact it is easily walkable

Room Tip: hotel has own car park with limited space - it is easier to park outside the City Wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 993 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and found it a really decent place – don’t expect a 5 star treat. The rooms are small but they are clean, quiet (if you don’t face the streets – and even then, this is Saint Malo not NY) and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast might be a bit overpriced but the coffee is great so we went twice and had breakfast in one of the cafes on the third morning. Everything’s considered: I would recommend it. If you want pampering, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: The hotel sits on a corner and is thus facing 2 streets – try to get a room overlooking the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our rooms were very clean. Had our children with us and enjoyed having connecting rooms. Parking just next to the hotel was not possible with our full sized van but we were able to park fairly close anyway. Only stayed one night but would return. Staff was very helpful and very professional.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esmerelda8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was a nice comfortable hotel for an overnight stop whilst waiting for the ferry. As is often the case, the photos make the rooms appear a lot brighter and lighter than they really are, but being in such a fantastic location we didn't spend much time in the room at all. The hotel advertises parking, however this is in a small internal courtyard which accommodates only a small number of cars, so we had to park outside the 'muros' - not a great arrangement as our car was visibly packed with possessions/wine etc ( relieved to find it was all still there in the morning!). Reception staff were helpful and friendly, and there was no problem storing our bikes overnight securely in the car park.

Room Tip: Ask if you can reserve parking when you reserve the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizbc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you drive, pay attention to the hotel signs on the corner of the buildings. Expect tight turns. Rent as small of a car as possible for easier driving and parking of Saint Malo streets. The hotel has some parking in an interior court yard. If you pay for 4 days, don't assume that you will have a space reserved if you return from a day trip. If you find a spot in the courtyard expect it to be very, very tight....even for experienced French drivers.It was a challenge my husband enjoyed but there is no way I would have been capable of parking there.
We asked the front desk if there was a laundry near by and she patiently explained the service all hotels provide. We explained we were on a very long trip with a lot of laundry needs and she shrugged her shoulders. There is a self laundry 1 block away.
The bathtub was large with plenty of hot water. The bed was the typical two twin mattesses together. Both were very hard (we like firm) with one bed having some hard ridges in it. Not comfortable. The walls had chipped paint but the room was clean. Very tiny room - two large people would have trouble moving about at same time. The towels were thin and small.. The soap provided was the "do everything" soap - wash, shampoo, condition, etc.
We had a courtyard side room and it was very, very, quiet at night. The walls are thin so we could occasionally hear neighbors. Old hotel but no musty smell. Breakfast was adequate but a step below average quality. Fruit was either too ripe or not ripe enough. Milk was a bit sour. Ham and salami a lower grade than most. Cereal was stale.
Most of the front desk was able to speak English but did not go out of way to be helpful. I observed one man having a very difficult time communicating to the French car rental firm about his broken car and no effort was made to help him. We are now staying at the Oceania Hotel and the staff is far, far superior. Hotel du Louvre was cheaper than many hotels but the price was still too high for what you received. If you do stay there, skip the breakfast. Coffee a couple of blocks away and of course, a bakery on every block.

Room Tip: If you don't like to wait for the 2 person slow elevator, choose a room at a lower level. We do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baker375f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was an overnight stay in St malo prior to taking a ferry back to UK, sadly the ferry folks were on strike, but we still had a wonderful evening.
The hotel is in the old city, very clean and comfortable, English speaking staff helped greatly, easy parking at Hotel, although watch that entrance/exit, a tad tight!!!
Breakfast was ok, the usual fare and well received.
Would I go back, yes I would..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbull107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice welcome and very helpful girl on reception. The hotel car park was full but we were able to park outside while we unloaded our luggage and took it up to our room. They also offered to let us leave our bikes in the secure hotel car park. Then we drove to a public car park just outside the ramparts, which was no problem. You can get a reduced rate on parking if you are staying a while, but as we left at lunchtime the following day, it was cheaper to pay the hourly rate (only a few euros). Room was fine, though a bit hot with the window closed, and a bit noisy with it open, but you would expect that being in such a fabulous location right in the heart of the old city. Breakfast was an excellent buffet. All in all a very good place for an overnight stop and we would certainly choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJudyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#38 of 82 in Saint-Malo
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,805 reviews
1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 82 in Saint-Malo
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo

Address: 2 rue des Marins, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#27 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $76 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Louvre Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing