We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to say, never arrived......”
Review of Hotel Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elizabeth
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sad to say, never arrived......”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Sad to say, we never arrived at the Hotel Elizabeth due to exceptional circumstances with our vehicle, but I would like to share my experience with the receptionist as a warning to other travellers. Our vehicle came off the road before we made it to Saint Malo, and even though things were stressful I did try and cancel my booking via a well known online booking company. Obviously with a 1000 things going on in my head I failed to do this properly. My mistake! However at midnight in a hotel hundreds of miles from where I wanted to be my phone rang and a woman from the Hotel Elizabeth started to scream at me that I was not there. I told her that we had been in an accident, that I thought I'd cancelled, that I was sorry. All she could do is literally scream at me and tell me that she was going to charge me anyway. Obviously she is within her right to do this as I failed to cancel my booking, but a phone call at midnight was not a nice way to be communicated with. Her English was good enough to insult me and take my money, but not good enough to accept my explanation or my apology.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    90
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
51
153
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A quaint room in an adjoining building. Very clean and well presented. No close parking but no one minds if you park at the door and then move after unloading bags. e have only just got sorted and there was a knock at the door. Our daughter had been in contact with the hotel staff and they arrive with a birthday cake for my wife. They had gone out of they way to make a special day special. Thanks for taking the time to be nice. Lots of great resturants close by. Should have stayed a week

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having checked this hotel out on Trip Advisor before booking, we knew we had booked into the Annexe building so knew what to expect. Having spent the week in the Burgundy region, we needed a hotel for one night prior to catching the ferry in the morning. This hotel did the job well enough - the room itself was fine for one night - comfy bed and reasonable shower. We didn't have a view, but a mural of the beach was painted on the wall outside our window! The staff were very helpful and breakfast was very nice, taken in the atmospheric basement of the main building. As mentioned by other reviewers, the location of the hotel is brilliant for being close to all the attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was a little disappointed with our room when we first arrived. I was expecting better furniture and a decent bathroom. However, on reflection the hotel is the second oldest (I understand) building in St. Malo so what can you expect? The staff are friendly and helpful and like to speak English. As we like to speak French this was a bit annoying but typical! Another reviewer mentions a smelly jute carpet and it is a problem in the corridor outside the room we stayed in which was located in the main part of the hotel.The bed was comfortable, the bath very small. There is a view of the city wall (just!). It is very, very noisy though being in close proximity to a couple of nightclubs. All in all we loved it!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a small hotel but our room was extremely comfortable and had a great bathroom. The bed was was very comfortable and our corner room was nice. The hotel is in a great location just inside the old city walls and very near all the restaurants and attractions. St. Malo has many sights to see and a large assortment of nice restaurants.

With the hotel being located inside the old city walls, parking is very limited. However, right outside the walls are severalmlarge parking lots. Since the hotel is justminside the walls, it's a short walk from your car. While we were there, an art festival was also ongoing so parking was at a premium but we still managed to find a spot near the hotel.

I would suggest a nice leisurely stroll atop the city wall where can see and visit many of the forts, beaches just outside the city walls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mljax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Royaume-Uni
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was a bit dissapointed with my room at Hôtel Elizabeth, where we stayed one night. Starting with the positive, the room is really well situated inside the walls and offer parking in a garage (with a fee). The staff was really friendly and helpful and the price was really reasonnable. However, I was expecting a much better room than what I got. I thought the rug in our room was really uncomfortable (some sort of breeded jute) and was rough under the foot and a bit smelly [to be fair, I don't know if this is in every room, and we were in the annex]. I didn't really like the fact that the toilet (with no faucet) was in a little closet (and I really do mean little), at one end of the room, seperated from the rest of the facilities of the room, at the other end. That being said, it only seemed to bother me as my husband found the whole thing to his liking and quite reasonable. In all, it might not be the prettiest room, but given it's location and the service we receive, it is quite a reasonnable accomodation and should be considered if you don,t want to spend to much for a confortable night inside the walls of Saint-Malo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurleyDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night. We would stay here again, staff were very friendly. The room wasnt very big but was fine for two. Breakfast was super. One tip, bring a hair dryer, there is one in the bathroom but it wasnt great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
#13 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De La Porte Saint-Pierre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Saint-Malo Centre Historique
0.1 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Property: Hotel Elizabeth
Address: 2 rue des Cordiers, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elizabeth, situated inside the old walls of Saint-Malo's fortress, offers 17 rooms in 2 buildings. In the house, "Les Armateurs", built in the early XVIIth century, and one of the oldest preserved buildings in the Walled-City, you will find the 10 superior en-suite bedrooms, the reception lounge and the breakfast room down in the stone-walled cellar. In the house "Les Skippers", 50 metres further, you will find the 7 regular bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing