We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Breton Creperie .....”

Creperie du Corsaire
Ranked #177 of 431 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 8, 2015

Lots of Creperies in St. Malo, but this one stands out to me for authenticity. Serving the authentic Breton crepe / thin galette type. Pick from a meal crepe or a desert crepe.myou can't go wrong and your taste buds and tummy will thank you. Enjoy ...

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

St Malo is full of crepe rise catering for tourists with prices to match. This is just off one of the main streets near the car parks, and is well worth a visit. The welcome was warm, crepes absolutely delicious and the bill was lower than I was expecting. Definitely worth a visit, everything made freshly on site to order, too.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Duffield_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There are dozens of establishments in St-Malo selling the traditional Breton staple fare of galettes - thin savoury pancakes made from a batter of buckwheat (blé noir or sarrasin) - and crêpes. La Crêperie du Corsaire stands out among them for its authenticity and excellent value.

Tucked away down a side street in the less frequented part of the old walled city (most easily found if you enter via the Porte de Dinan), the crêperie is a smallish single room with slightly old-world nautical decor. It's run by a couple in their sixties: m'sieur is affable and polite, appears to speak no English, and does front-of-house/waiting; madame runs the kitchen and turns out magnificently light, crispy, tasty, generously-filled and freshly-made galettes.

We had versions stuffed with cheeses, chives, bacon, ham, potato - the list of variations is exhaustive. The crêpes are just as good, with appetising combos such as apple and pear sorbet, stewed apple and cream. With a bottle of good local cider, a side salad, coffee and a digestif, we paid just 40 euros and came away sated and happy. Stick to the cheaper end of the menu and just a bolée (earthenware cup) of cider, and two people can eat for 25 euros - a bargain in this busy tourist town!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SpiritOfViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is as close as you'll find to a traditional Breton creperie in St. Malo. The proprietor was very welcoming and patient with our broken French, the menu was simple and cheap, but everything was executed well.

Yes, the place smells a bit like burnt butter, and the decor is a little dated, and they don't speak any English, and they only open for about 2 hours a day... But we were grateful they didn't pander to the tourists and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

At the quiet end of the intra-muros and as such away from the majority of tourists and tat-filled souvenir shops, this great value creperie serves up surprisingly nice food in a rustic nautical atmosphere. The generously-filled savoury crepes are the best, with the 'Chavignol' (goat's cheese) and the 'Corsaire' (smoked salmon and scallops) highly recommended. The owner seems to have been there forever (since I was a child, at the very least) and he manages to provide an unusually warm welcome to guests, even out-of-season tourists. Prices are fairly low.

Certainly one of the best value options in the intra-muros and one that we'll be returning to next time we're in town.

Date of visit: March 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lava_tory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creperie du Corsaire also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Creperie du Corsaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing