We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly managed Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poorly managed Reception”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

according to reservation details, check-in and check-out are both 12:00. I arrived at 13:10 to be rudely told by the Manager there would be no room available before 15:00 and that I should not return before then. Poor service continued in the restaurant where a junior member of staff lacked knowledge of the drinks and food lists. Happily, a more knowledgeable waiter improved the dining experience. Breakfast was all together a better affair, it was SELF-SERVICE !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    336
    99
    27
    9
See reviews for
167
376
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not the cheapest option in town, but a good one nonetheless. Really big comfy rooms, nice staff with plenty of time to explain where things are, good and reasonably priced food in the restaurant. It's also close to Carrefour for last minute shopping, plus a small shopping centre with good bars. Also you can get a regular fast and cheap bus from practically outside the hotel which goes directly to the tourist office and one of the gates to the old city walls - couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just turned up whilst driving round and exploring so hadn't booked. luckily this wasn't a problem here as we had driven round the town itself which is something I would not recommend on a Friday night! We were very grateful to the English man who came out of a restaurant (La Chateaubriand) to warn us against parking under a particular tree in the square due to the large number of birds living in it!
The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful as well as being able to speak fairly good English (much better than my French anyway). We arrived at around 9.30pm and were checked in and back in the restaurant by 10pm which we were advised opened until 10 but it states 10.30 on the hotel information so I guess it may depend on how busy the hotel is.
The food was fine although our chips were replaced by boiled potatoes "by mistake." I think the chef may have wanted to get out into town by this time.
All in all it was a good night's sleep, comfortable, clean beds in a quiet room with plenty of on site parking, exactly what we needed before the next leg of our journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Never have a bad night here, staff very friendly and rooms always clean, sadly you can't get room service but you can go downstairs and take up what you want from the bar or restaurant. Always use this hotel for a night stop while in the area as its very convenient and just next to the Carrefour for shopping

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#7 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
#40 of 81 in Saint-Malo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.7 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
2.2 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#23 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine

Property: Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Address: Ave. Du General De Gaulle La Madeleine, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location for a sightseeing break, the Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine is located on the edge of the city, a few kilometres from the beaches of the Cite Corsaire, Mont Saint Michel and Cape Frehel. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Emerald Coast from the walls of the old city of Saint Malo. The hotel offers 73 rooms with WiFi (including 2 rooms for guests with limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, a bar, 24 hour snack service, a terrace, a car park and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine Hotel Saint-Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing