We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We'd like to make special mention of Francoise at the reception desk who was very obliging and attentive to our needs and requests during our four day stay. We especially appreciated her assistance in organizing our day excursion to Jersey Island and printing priority documents for us. Her helpfulness made our stay worthwhile.

We had a car so this hotel suited our need for secure parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max and Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for hour comment
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    399
    56
    12
    3
See reviews for
127
512
46
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had booked our room long in advance, and when arriving at the hotel, we were told that the reservation would not hold. We had come all the way from Luxembourg, it was over a 10hours trip and we were greeted and taken care of in the most terrible fashion. Even worse, the lady at the front desk told us that it wasn't her fault but Best Western international's responsibility if our room wasn't available as planned, clearly indicating a great lack of consideration towards the customer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Customer
On behalf of our entire team, I want to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for customers in the future.
However, to understand what happened we need to know your dates of stay. Thank you for your reply.
Sincerely.
Nicolas Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for just one night in early March. It doesn't look all that nice from the outside, but the rooms are perfectly fine. Cleanliness is most important for my partner and I, and the rooms were clean and functional. We had a small problem with the booking which was resolved immediately and will no fuss by the friendly staff. Would highly recommend this Best Western for those with a car who are after somewhere ten minutes from the CBD but without the big hotel expense.

Room Tip: Ask for a room set back from the road. Ours was fine, but we did note a couple of rooms that might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The staff are superb; the rooms are comfortable and quiet, and the location excellent. I really enjoy being so close to the SNCF, and being extramuros means you can eat and drink for less at nearby cafes.

Try it...you'll come back...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmetto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is diagonally opposite the train station in St. Malo, which made it very easy to catch the TGV to Paris early in the morning. The hotel itself is modern and the rooms are well furnished and very spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there was a tea tray in the room. We were only there from midnight and left at 5.30 the next morning so I can't comment on the quality of the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmancrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbalmoral, Directeur général at MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for hour comment
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon to taste the breakfast.
Sincerely
Nicolas Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the Best Western Balmoral hotel. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a new area, next to the hotel is a cultural center under construction. The railway station is oppositie to the hotel. The hotel offers paid parking but it's possible to park your car next to the hotel for free. The city center is a 10 minutes walk over a not very attractive road. It's possible to take a more attractive road next to the sea but that takes at least 20 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I feel a bit mean giving 3 stars but a few tweaks would improve it. As previous reviewers have said location is a bit of an issue with 15-20 mins walking time into town along a not particularly attractive road.
The staff are very friendly and the hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are simple and of good size but could do with a room safe as there are no drawers or cupboards to hide things from view. I think they should consider free or reduced charge parking as although on street is viable I prefer a safer environment with a car laden for a trip to the UK.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral

Property: MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
Address: 24 rue Theodore Monod, 35400, Saint-Malo, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Balmoral)
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hearty Welcome Whether you are organising a professional event or you simply want to enjoy a family holiday in Brittany, the team at Mercure Hôtel Balmoral St Malo is at your service.Built in 2010, Best Western Balmoral offers you the comfort of a three star hotel (air conditioned rooms, private parking etc.) and all the modern amenities you require (free Wi-Fi, free national telephone, television with pay per view facility etc.). Along with its ideal location, our hotel is the perfect landing point for a new way of discovering Brittany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing