We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
188
113
17
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
188
113
17
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quirky hotel watching the sun go down shellfish french experience fab location historic city within walking distance room was clean car park sea view portsmouth balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 323 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Had great expectations of this place. The room and bathroom here comfortable and clean. The disappointment was no food in the evening, whilst it was very windy and we had been told the terrace was like to be closed, we were still looking forward to eating in the indoor area.
So after going out for something to eat, returned about 9:15 for a nightcap (we’d had a long day), the man in charge didn’t have the key for the ( outside) bar, which meant no lager for my husband, or coke for his second preference of JD. No apology forthcoming as we settled for a glass of white and an ‘artisan’ beer..no to personal taste. Breakfast was fine.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jax552015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice C, Gérant at Hotel Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Jax552015,
Thank you for your message,
Indeed the bar-restaurant and the kitchen are outside the hotel in a terrace, on this specific day we had an obligation to close all the outside area because of the storm.
The person in charge that night kindly accepted to serve the drinks even though the bar-restaurant was closed and that he didn't have access to the kitchen and bar area.
Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

This small hotel was everything I would look for to reflect a French experience. A little bit quirky but eminently welcoming. We ate an excellent seafood dinner overlooking the seafront watching the sun go down and then retired to a basic but comfortable room with bed linen of the highest standard. The seafront terrace was a little too chilly for us but nevertheless attracted a good number of customers wrapped up against the early Autumn chill. We chose not to have breakfast as we were leaving on the morning boat to Portsmouth but it looked to provide an extensive choice of good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice C, Gérant at Hotel Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Colin Victor,

Thank you for your kind message, we are very happy that you liked your stay at our hotel and that we provided you the French experience you were expecting,
We are trying our best to give to our guest the best experience we can so they enjoy our original hotel and discover our city,
Kind wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

The hotel has his charm, location is excellent and evenings in the hotel restaurant were just amazing. We were really surprised how beautiful is the town. The hotel wasn’t expensive and the room was clean.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank slavkanagyova1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LESCHARMETTES, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to know that you enjoyed, don't hesitate to come back for a next stay in St Malo
Best regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back . We have already started planning next year's holiday and will make sure we travel through St Malo so we can stay at Les Charmettes again.
The only slightly low mark I've given is for the room as it was very small but the view of the beach/sea was fantastic and completely worth the small room. (Also it's obviously a historic building and the rooms are what they are)
We ate on the terrace. The food was lovely - the menu is small and simple but everything we had was delicious. It really is a lovely place to eat on a warm evening as the sun sets over the sea.

Room tip: Sea View rooms are an absolute must if available
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zazag0, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you Andrew for sharing your experience at Les Charmettes. We try to do our best with fresh and local products , that is the reason why we offer a short menu. As you mentioned on your comment , we have 2 historic villas and all the 16 rooms have different size, decoration. We are more than please to welcome you for your next years ' vacations. Charmettly Yours, Ann -Laure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely meal and an overnight stay at this unique and stylish hotel and we were also guests at a 50th Birthday party at this hotel. The location is ideal for a beach holiday and is within walking distance of the historic city of Saint Malo and the ferry port which we used to travel from Portsmouth to Saint Malo. The staff provided an attentive and professional service and added to the enjoyment of our break here. The location is idyllic and the sea view from our 1st floor room with a balcony was sublime. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and we would love to return again some time.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank antkealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zazag0, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Hello, A big thank you to you for sharing your experience at Les Charmettes and especially during this birthday party. It is the best reward in our day to day work :-) Kind Regards, Fabrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews