We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible pizza, pasta, in the "Hollow Tooth"”
Review of La Dent Creuse

La Dent Creuse
Ranked #300 of 380 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Incredible pizza, pasta, in the "Hollow Tooth"”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was just round the corner from where we were staying, the menu had an English translation and there was a good choice of pizza, pasta, fish and burgers. The first night I had the vegetarian pizza, wine and ice cream, the experience was so good we went back for the next two nights as well. Even the slight downer of a whiney child and a slightly burnt pizza base the third night doesn't prevent me from awarding five stars. The tagliatelli with veg was outstanding, I was expecting a mass of pasta with a small amount of veg - not so, the veg was plentiful and steaming hot besides. The fish burger was delicicious and the salad that comes with the lasagna is goooood. We were paying between 30 and 40 euros for 2 mains, wine, water, coffee and sharing a desert. We had various ice creams, you would NOT let a child eat the alcoholic ones - they are seriously lavish with the spirits. The staff were smiley, quick, but never rush you. It was cosy and atmospheric, and seemed to be a mix of tourists and locals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    115
    58
    58
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Service good, food not so much”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had an not very good meal at this restaurant.. 2 of us ordered mussels, which were tiny and overcooked, with only a tiny dribble of the white wine sauce at the bottom - which likely explained why so many had turned into rubber bands. They came with one bowl of fries which had to be shared between 2, which irritated as we were part of a large group and the two people ordering them were not sitting together. The draft beer was stale and unpleasant.

Pizzas were generally agreed to be good, not exceptional.

The service was actually excellent and I really can't fault the servers at all. Very nice, thoughtful (apart from the fries), prompt and attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonKiwi180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glad to be proved wrong.”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were invited to La Dent Creuse by friends who had visited it the year before. We tend to be a tad competitive and vie to find the best new restaurant and my first impression was that it's a pizza/hamburger joint - not really our cup of tea. However we gave it a try and I'm very glad we did.

True, pizzas & burgers are very popular clearly because they eat well judging by the faces and comments from our fellow diners but there is another element with North African touches that appealed to us.

This is a small restaurant and it was busy on the Tuesday in April we visited. The waiter was totally on the ball, friendly and helpful but the kitchen was unhurried. Not that it mattered when you could see that the wait was worth it for fresh, well presented, flavoursome and very reasonably priced food. My Viking salad of seafood @ under 12 euros was smashing and on a par with any of the more popular restaurant offerings. The other three were very happy too with their choices and we will return when next we are in St Malo.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

After a long, cold and windy as hell day walking in Saint-Malo we decided it's about time to have dinner and some wine to warm us up. Spent another 45 minutes looking at menus in all kind of places but always found something to pick on. Eventually we found ourselves in front of La Dent Creuse and said "looks like a cosy place, menu/prices more then ok so let's just do it". And what a good choice! Food was excellent, atmosphere friendly and intimate, house rose wine very good. We loved it so much that even if we both try to go to a different place every time when on holiday, we came back the next day and... same great food, service and atmosphere. Definitely recommend it and definitely going back next time we're in Saint Malo. Not fine dining with stars and accolades, not for those that seek fancy, posh dining experiences but... Very nice feeling about this place!! Good, good, good!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madalin934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very ordinary food”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We went to La Dent Creuse by chance and ordered a pizza and Spaghetti Bolognese.

The pizza was large with generous toppings and pretty good. The only problem was the tomato sauce on the edge which had a weird taste (like uncooked canned tomato puree), ruining the overall taste. However, the price is reasonable and you will probably be full from the portion.

The Spaghetti Bolognese is rather difficult to defend. Although I'm not a good cook, my Spaghetti is tastier. The dish we ordered was blend, resembling and tasting like food that restaurants buy already cooked from a retailer and just have to warm up and plate.

Overall, as the price is good, it is not a bad place to eat but you can find better restaurants for a few more euros.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mosespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dent Creuse also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to La Dent Creuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing