We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
259
95
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
95
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel small hotel great location helpful couple authentic experience room was clean and comfortable old town wonderful hosts couple who run this lovely hotel brittany coast traditional hotel our honeymoon nice breakfast crepes the main square intra muros
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 360 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2018

My wife and I travelled to Normandie and Brittany in September primarily to take in all of the key World War 2 sites as well as to embrace the very impressive local culture. While the trip was as meaningful as it was fun, our three nights at the Hotel Des Abers were such a standout that we had to add to the already long list of favourable reviews. Key reasons why you would want to stay there:

1. Location superb - easy walk to the outside of the wall to retrieve the car and just off of one of the key shopping streets with several great restaurants right around the corner.
2. Boutique hotel run by local owners - Patricia and her husband genuinely care that guests are looked after and have a good experience. Very welcoming and very informative (including Patricia telling us about her favourite street within the walls for one-stop shopping).
3. Great price/quality - rooms are small but quaint and very quiet. Room pricing very reasonable. Breakfast also a good deal.
4. The turtles rock.

Only warning I would give (which is similar in every place we stayed this trip in France) is that the wifi is slow compared to what we are used to in North America and other parts of Europe.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BRC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGACHE P, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Abers, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you soooo much for your so kind review! We are delighted you enjoy your stay in our family hotel and also our breakfast ;)
We hope you could come back to visit us another time... We'll be there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

our room at the hotel was extremely comfortable with all the facilities that we wanted. Patricia, our host made certain we were looked after in every way including giving us clothes drying facilities when we were rain soaked walking the amazing city walls.
Breakfast was excellent with, again, Patricia ensuring we had everything we wanted.
Our friends visiting from UK were equally delighted with the hotel.
The hotel is located right in the heart of the old city with restaurants, shops and bars etc. within a minutes walk. For us and our friends it could not have been better

Room tip: All rooms we have used and others we have seen are excellent
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikedc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGACHE P, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Abers, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Thank you very much for this so kind review. We apprecitate it a lot! We are delighted you enjoy your stay in our small and family hotel. Hope you can come back to visit us ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

My husband and I only spent one night here, but we were very happy with it. The host was very friendly and helpful. They have a cute little lobby dog who we loved. Our room had plenty of space for a short stay and was very clean, and the location was very convenient to shops, cafes, and parking.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FarAway782101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGACHE P, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Abers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you very much for you kind review! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Hotel Des Abers is a nice little hotel located intra-muros in Saint Malo. The location is perfect for wandering and shopping and dining inside the walls. Best of all, the hosts could not have been nicer. They made phone calls for us, gave us an umbrella to use in the rain, and were just so warm and gracious.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotting807623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGACHE P, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Abers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We loved our room, very spacious. Parking was easy. The host was very accommodating. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and very serene.When we arrived at the entry gate we did not have a gate code and struggled to reach someone to let us in. Be sure to get the code in advance.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGACHE P, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Abers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews