We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Reine Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for 7nights at the end of May 2011. Overall i was very pleased. On the subject of the staff, the 'main man' when we were there was a guy who i think was called 'Jean Marc' who we found to be friendly, proffesional and very helpful. His recommendations of local restaurants and places to visit were much appreciated. The rest of the staff were OK, but not as good. The sunset view on the evening was superb from the front of the hotel which overlooked a pleasant sandy beach. The pool area facilities were good, we used them a lot. The apartment was pretty good, although it would be better if they had been cleaned maybe once while we were there. I paid about £100.00 per night which was just about 'fair' considering there was no food included. I suppose the poor exchange rate pound - euro didn't help, French visitors would have found value for money better. Location was good if you have a car. It was out of the way, so quiet and suited us down to the ground, but a liitle way from the main areas if you are using public transport or walking. Another big plus though was the lack of riff raff not just in this hotels, but in Brittany generally. We had a lovely time, and i would score this hotel 8/10 and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 582 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2010

This Residence Hotel is located about 2 miles/5 Km from the walled town of Saint-Malo. It is right on the beach but to get to the beach you have to leave the property and walk down some steps - it is very easy to do.
Pros:
Apartment style with kitchen, family room and two bedrooms
On the beach - nice beach with huge tide differential
Indoor pool
Great beach views
Very nice, helpful and accomodating staff
Generally clean but not the bathroom - see below.
Laundry facilities
Quick 5 minute drive to Saint-Malo, grocery store or boulangerie

Cons:
Our bathroom smelled terribly of urine. We went to the store bought cleaner and scrubbed it 3 times in 3 days and we could not get rid of the smell.
No cleaning service during your stay - need to ask for more toilet paper, etc.
Small bedrooms - barely able to walk around bed
Unable to walk anywhere to eat/shop
No food in Hotel
Wifi only in Lobby - not room
Laundry very expensive

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

located on the beach ( no road to cross) .
Large parking.
This formula with fully equipped kitchen is very nice if you plan to spend a few days of vacations with children. You have just to buy food ( supermarket next door) & you are at home.
Indoor heated swimming pool is large enough to swim ( about 15 ). Sea water being 10 to 14°C at this time of the year, it is the only option to spend some time in water.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beuleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed here for a week with 2 adults and 2 children. Great rooms and beautiful view. This hotel is horrendously run. It is like the french version of faulty towers. Rude staff. There was a crazy evangelist who harassed me when I was in the bar using the internet at lunchtime. He was not even a guest and insisted on telling me that Australia was stupid, insulted my racial group, and told me to pray very day for a year. He tried to give me his address and a prayer card and I told him very firmly that I was NOT interested. The Concierge heard all this and did not say anything to the man harassing the guest, and then later came to my room to apologise AND GIVE ME THE PRAYER CARD HE HEARD ME SAY I DID NOT WANT!

In addition to this the bar was basically non functioning. We would arrive and not be offered a drink, others would arrive after us and be served instantly and we would still be ignored.

This was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sydney_Family_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This is a gem of a place, we booked late, and all the central hotels were full and were we glad.The appartment had everything,inlcuding towels and bedding. It was the cleanest most beautiful appartment we have stayed in on holiday in Franceand the veiw was sublime (panoramic view of beach ). We stayed for a week and were sorry to go home. It is about 40 mins leisurely walk into St Malo town, or 10 mins on the bus. So Peaceful , very romantic . A little piece of Heaven

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmariablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lebretonacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
#52 of 82 in Saint-Malo
282 reviews
1.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Reine Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Reine Marine

Address: Residence Reine Marine 67 avenue du President John Kennedy, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $91 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Reine Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reine Marine Residence is ideal for holidays with friends and family. With an exceptional panorama of the bay of Saint-Malo, it offers 67 apartments, fully equipped and beautifully decorated to welcome up to 6 persons. In addition, the residence has a heated indoor swimming pool, a turkish bath, a sunbathing area and a direct access to the beach. .24 hour-a-day reception staff .Swimming pool access .Turkish bath access .Beds made upon arrival .Linen provided .Baby equipment (reservations required) .Parking/garage .Free WIFI .Iron and ironing board available upon request .Board games .Tourism information .Television and satellite TV, English and German channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Reine Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing