We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious”
Review of Le Chalut

Le Chalut
Ranked #67 of 386 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $74
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
london
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Had the menu ad about euro38.
Ordered foie gras to start and then fish then creme brulee
However they gave us free canapes (very tasty) and then some little crab soup taster
and then the foie gras came with 2 slices of sweet toated bread and by the time my
crem brulee arrived ( in between a pamplemouse sorbet) I was stuffed and regretted
having ordered the foie gras (large portion) I thought this restaurent was going to give small portions but no not nouvelle cuisine here. Enjoyed the meal very much but
order oysters to start if you want to finish everything.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    139
    58
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We Just Keep Coming Back”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A small unpretentious restaurant with a slightly kitchy fishing theme. The inside doesn't bode particularly well for a great eating experience but how wrong can you be. Le Chalut delivers the best seafood in the entire area and we should know we live here. Our meal started with "amuse bouche" which included salmon rillettes and an intense pumpkin veloute. On our last visit my wife started with scallops, six fat scallops cooked to perfection with a delicate noisette vinaigrette on the salad. I had a ceviche of langoustine, getting this right needs the best possible ingredients prepared by a chef at the top of his game. Next course, St Pierre (John Dory). I must confess I had previously never really considered this fish but now I order it every time, dense, succulent sauced sensitively accompanied by petits legumes and morel mushrooms with a side plate of pureed potatoes with olive oil and and pine nuts, perfectly presented and delicious. Desserts are to a high standard but not outstanding, for this is above all a restaurant dedicated to seafood.
The only negatives are that the menu doesn't vary much and one starter the rouget, is a bit clunky. Portions are generous throughout especially if you receive the full amuse bouche selection beforehand. We've never managed to get through the cheese course. Wine is about what you should expect, we pay about 35 Euros for a 1ier Cru Chablis. Service is discreet, efficient and a little inpersonal, so if you're from the US and want to be best friends with "your server" or hear a happy birthday song from the staff, this is not the place for you.
When compared to lesser restaurants, the prices are extremely reasonable.
For lovers of fresh seafood, beautifully prepared and attractively presented there is no other restaurant in the locality that compares or gives such good value for money..

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcallcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Seafood with Flair”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Fresh seafood cooked to perfection and with respect to the flavour of the fish. Large servings with generous and inventive sides and desserts. Service a bit official and decor a bit "fish and chip shop" but really enjoyed the food and the location in the old city is wonderful, typically French and quirky.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank searover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in St Malo, specialising in Seafood”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Restaurant offers excellant modern french cuisine, Set Price menu is with 'Live Lobster' main is excellant.
Highly recommend this restaurant
Must book

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucky8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Outstanding food (BOOK EARLY)”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We went to St Malo for a mini cruise, and as always I looked on Trip Advisor for a good restaurant. We went to the Chalut for Saturday lunch. The restaurant is only open for a couple of hours at lunch time, and when the doors opened , it was soon completely full. We did not have a booking, but we did arrive early. Most of the people were French , and had made reservations.

We went for the 25 Euro menu, and were glad we didnt go for the more expensive menu, because we were absolutely stuffed!! We had three main courses, plus a complimentary small starter. It was exquisite, we are still talking about it.

I dont know if this menu is available in the summer months.
We intend to go back with friends , just to show them this fantastic restaurant.
We have been to many restaurants, and this is definetely in our top three. What more can I say. Book you will not be disapointed. The wine isnt cheap, but it is good quality.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pompey1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chalut also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le Chalut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing