We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyriad Rennes Centre
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

a rather characterless hotel in a perfect position opposite the train station. Great staff, spotless rooms, wifi. The breakfast was a bit basic, but for us it was a great place to stay for two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Kyriad Rennes Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

I use the Kyriad @ Place de la Gare in Rennes about once a month when on business.
The rooms are very clean, well maintained and it's quiet at night despite the central location.

Probably the only issue, which I've pointed out to the hotel, is they have the old school shower over the bath set up. This means despite my best efforts the bathroom floor ends up waterlogged. It's really disappointing that hotels still have this set up surely these days people would be happy enough with a shower. Fair enough in family rooms having a bath for kids might be needed but for the rest of the rooms a shower must be a better use of space, easier to maintain and more environmentally friendly. I would make the same point about a trouser press versus iron/ ironing board...why???

Apart from that everyhting is great, staff are very helpful , breakfast is good value for money and free WIFI is always welcomed.

As well as being directly opposite the train station, which is handy for taxi's, the hotel is close to some very good resturants and cafes. The only downside is car parking I normally use the station car park (North) which is about 5 to 10 mins walk from the hotel. For overnight the cost is aournd 10 Euros. You can park in the street free of charge after 7pm but trying to find a space is very difficult.

All in all very good hotel, great value for money in a city where booking a hotel can be tricky at times . Hotels in Rennes always seem to be full in certain weeks and prices shoot up quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Despite the central location, just across the train station, the hotel was surprisingly quiet.
The room was not large, but well-equipped and spotless.
The buffet breakfast was excellent & good value for money.

The decor is modern, without any character, though adequate…

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Very well placed across the road from the train station, easy to walk to the old town. Very clean rooms, well equipped. The only problem I had was my room was over the reception and through the night I could hear the receptionist getting up, walking around, and their chair squeaking very loudly. Other than that, it was good, very friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
Thank Jaya100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here for one 1 night.

Location: right across from the train station with many restaurants nearby both cheap and expensive.

Atmosphere: room decor was outdated, but clean and most importantly spacious. The mattress was on a very firm side. Bathroom was somewhat spacious. The downside was the it had glass window covering only one third of the tub, therefore water splashed onto the floor. One definitely needs to use caution when stepping out of the tub.

Service: Overall was nice. We got help with recommendations about things in the area, but that was the extent of our needing help from them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a clean, comfortable, quiet budget hotel across from the train station in Rennes. It is about a 10-minute walk from the tourist center. Breakfast was an adequate buffet. The beds were OK, though it was very hot when we were there, the air conditioning was minimal, yet the beds were made with thick polyester duvets ... which had to be stripped out.

There is a laundromat about half a block away, and a wonderful crepe restaurant facing the train station, so you can have a light, simple dinner of galettes, salad, and chocolate chantilly crepes while doing your laundry. A big plus on a long trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingGoingAlmostGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I stayed at the Kyriad during a business trip mainly because of its convenient location (across the street from the Rennes train station). As another reviewer has mentioned, it's not the nicest part of town, but the neighborhood is perfectly safe. The hotel's front doors are locked at 21:00, and the hotel's front desk is staffed 24/7. Indeed, the only unease I felt as regards my safety came from the room next door -- not from the outside at all!
If I had to describe this hotel in one word, it would be: ADEQUATE. It wasn't dreadful, but it wasn't good either. The room was small and only so-so clean. I found hairs and stains on the linens. They looked laundered so I'm guessing that they were actually "clean," just a little roughed up. Bed firmness was great, pillows were comfortable. There's a flat-screen satellite TV in every room. The bathrooms are medium-sized and well-maintained. I didn't have any problem with noise coming in from the street. Instead, I had problems with noise coming through from my neighbors. They didn't sleep all night. There was a lot of slamming of doors (until 4 a.m. in the morning), running down the hallway, flushing of the toilet, yelling, furniture moving. I simply couldn't figure out what they were doing -- I locked my door because they didn't sound like the type of people you wanted to get involved with, if you know what I mean...
("Reassuring" signs throughout the hotel reminding guests that the hallways were under 24-hour video surveillance somehow had the opposite effect on me.)
Overall, I felt very unsafe and couldn't wait to leave the hotel. I didn't sleep all night and was a mess for my meeting the next morning. To top it off, the hotel charged me an extra 25 Euros for no discernable reason. Stay here only if you have to. Otherwise, not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#8 of 64 in Rennes
190 reviews
Hotel Anne de Bretagne
#4 of 64 in Rennes
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Balthazar Hotel and Spa MGallery Rennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Rennes Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Rennes Centre

Address: 6 Place de la Gare, 35000, Rennes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Rennes Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Rennes Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing