We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

You literally walk out of the South exit of the train station, make a right, and walk outside for 500 ft. Checkin was very smooth and the staff pleasant. Small elevators up to upper floors which are non-smoking. The room is quite small but perfect if a single traveller. Window opens for fresh air. WiFi was OK. The bathroom are is well ventilated.
I did not have breakfast at the hotel. There are a number of bakeries, including a Paul, right in the train station.

Room Tip: south side is quiet and overlooks old women's prison
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 497 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location for Rennes train station and the hotel was very clean and good value for money. The staff that we dealt with were all very helpful. We asked for extra pillows and towels and got them straight away.


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank graykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Basic and clean, that's what I expect from an Ibis hotel and I got it at Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud. Very conveniently located next to the South exit of Gare Rennes, it is a good place to stay if you are catching early train. Breakfast was good but you can find cheaper bargains both inside and outside the train station. Free wifi was a bonus. About 20 minutes walk to the old town centre where you can find numerous shops and restaurants, and the town itself was an attraction with cobbled streets and city walls.

Room Tip: If you are a really light sleeper, try to request a room facing away from the rail tracks. Mine was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is just what you'd expect of an ibis. Simple, clean, new and not too expensive

The location is decent, but not great. Most of the hotels and bars are north of the station. This is the other side of the tracks and there is nothing else south of the station

Breakfast was a simple buffet

Wifi was OK, but not the fastest

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked in for 3 nights to see Brittany. The accommodation was a typical French Ibis room. I selected it because it was directly next to the train station. My room was clean and quiet. While discarding old papers along the way as I criss-crossed France I accidentally threw out my Eurostar ticket print out. The staff couldn't have been more helpful: I emailed my husband in Oz, he sent a copy of it to the hotel desk and they printed it out. It took just 10 minutes. Merci beaucoup Alain and Matthieu! Your efficiency and courtesy was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We encountered rental car breakdown near Le Man on our last night stay and took taxi back in the next morning, we called the hotel staff if late check out is possible, it turned out that the next night being totally booked-out, but will offer us a conference room to pack our luggages to continue our journey. Thanks for very helpful staff!

Room Tip: definitely faced south...while facing north is the beautiful town view but often with a scatter of S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rennes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Rennes Centre Gare Nord
1.1 mi away
Adagio Access Rennes Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Rennes Centre
Kyriad Rennes Centre
#7 of 64 in Rennes
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel SPA Rennes Centre Gare
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Isidore
Best Western Plus Hotel Isidore
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud

Address: 15 rue de Chatillon | Esplanade Fulgence Bienvenue, 35000, Rennes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Price Range: $60 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud hotel is located in the city centre, with direct access to the TGV railway station and the metro. Close to the Parlement de Bretagne, old Rennes and Thabor park, it is ideal for your business and leisure stays. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel has 90 air-conditioned rooms, a bar serving snacks 24/24, 2 meeting rooms and Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public covered pay parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Rennes Centre Gare Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing