We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convienient to drive to and stay for Centre Ville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Convienient to drive to and stay for Centre Ville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure for one night on 6th July. It's close to the centre of the town and in the midst of a lot of pedestrian and one way streets. We drove there and I was pleasantly surprised it was easy (with the GPS) to get to.
There are lots of car parking spaces underneath, more than the 10 often quoted as it seems to have been extended. We didn't get charged for the parking.

The check-in was handled efficiently. The room was standard Mercure fare overlooking the front. The building is an ex printing works and the façade has been retained with the hotel standing a few feet behind it. Bed ok, with tea and coffee provided, plus a single biscuit. They have the BBC TV World Service ! Much better than CNN we are often stuck with.
The room was quiet, the Air Con was efficient. Second floor.

Breakfast was good including a hot option. Quite expensive, but breakfasts are these days.

The bar remained closed the entire time.

Check out was efficient. We left the car there until the afternoon.

Hassle free and very acceptable. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The room we had was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    279
    87
    22
    8
See reviews for
59
201
45
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This must be a newer type Mercure as it was a much better hotel overall than the 2 earlier Mercures where we stayed. Quite modern, good size room, and comfortable bed, more in the Novotel style. Breakfast was the real surprise with plenty of choice and an operating kitchen preparing hot food (eggs etc) on order. It is well located in the centre of the restaurant / tourist precinct and has onsite parking at 10 Euro. There is street parking out front if you can get a bay for overnight. The only downside is that it was very noisy in the streets (Saturday night) and there is a bar next door that stays open late and is noisy.

Room Tip: try to get on the back of the hotel, lots of noise in the streets until late in the night / early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This modern building behind the facade of a former newspaper print works has the advantage of a garden in the square behind.This appears to belong to apartments on the opposite side,but my room(402) enjoyed the pleasant view and the sound of fountains,with no traffic noise.The 'superior twin' room was of the usual Mercure style,though slightly let down by poor bedhead lights and a missing bedside table on the right side. The desk was of a fanciful design,and too springy for writing or using a keyboard comfortably. The bathroom had a quite long enamel bath although the basin was a silly shallow modern piece of styling.
A solitary bottle of water occupied the fridge - it was not evident that any other drinks were sold,except at the bar.A vending machine or shop at reception would be useful.
Breakfast is of a good French standard.No bacon/sausage is on display,but a notice says that they,and omelettes,can be cooked to order.
Having found Rennes a rather raucous and graffiti-scarred city,I thought the Mercure to be a very welcome refuge.

Room Tip: Request facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel itself was OK, nothing special. I'd say it's on the same level as a UK Premier Inn - does the job with no perks. On the plus side the staff are very welcoming and helpful, providing information about local restaurants with maps etc. The location of the hotel is ideal as it's not far from the train station, and the public transport in the city is extremely efficient and easy to use. Breakfast is a fixed price of 18 Euros, even though I only ate a few croissants and pot of coffee, a bit of a joke for me personally but I guess you could make your monies worth if you cleaned out the buffet...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetrios J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

we were all on a golfing break and this excellent hotel in the centre of Rennes proved to be the perfect base. The rooms were reasonable large with good sized beds and bathrooms. The front desk staff were always helpful and friendly and. The underground garage facility was a huge advantage for a centre of town hotel and very reasonably priced at €10 per day. Buffet breakfasts were comprehensive and very good value. We would certainly return here if in the area again. Thank you Mecure!

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a Mercure Hotel, and I would stay again. Very modern, fabulously large room (I took a double room for a single occupancy). Extremely comfortable and quiet. I switched off the air conditioning but still found I was too warm in the night due to the very efficient duvet!

Breakfast was very good too. They have a bar there I didn't use. No restaurant but they do provide room service, however I thought it a little too expensive for what it was so ate out! This hotel is situated two underground stops at Place de la Republique from Rennes rail station (take the line towards J F Kennedy).

Room Tip: I only know about my room which was room 207, it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderful270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#7 of 64 in Rennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Hotel Anne de Bretagne
#3 of 64 in Rennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Hélier
Le Saint-Antoine Hotel & Spa, BW PREMIER Collection
Best Western Plus Hotel Isidore
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement

Property: Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Address: 1 rue Paul Louis Courier, 35000, Rennes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes > Parcheminerie Toussaints
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rennes
#10 Business Hotel in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street in the heart of the city, a few minute walk from the historical and cultural sites of Rennes. Nestled in an old printing shop (heritage facade). Bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Rennes Centre Pre Botte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing