We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, central location”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have stayed here many times on business during the week and have always had great service. The location is superb, so central and so close to restaurants, cafes, shops, etc. On this trip, my wife joined me for the weekend. Having read the previous review, I was concerned, but quite honestly, the lack of bar and restaurant at the weekend was irrelevant. There are so many great restaurants and cafes within walking distance only a few minutes away, why would you want to eat in your hotel? We had an absolutely lovely weekend, and the hotel was brilliant. The breakfasts are excellent, by the way. Huge selection plus cooked if required. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    295
    91
    22
    8
See reviews for
59
218
46
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked one night here as a stopover before returning to the UK. I have to say that in some respects it exceeded our expectations in others we were a little bemused by some 2/3 star quality.

The hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the station and is brilliantly situated near the old part of town adjacent to some very funky restaurants and shops and a 5 minute walk from the main sights.

The room was lovely with free wifi an espresso machine, a huge bed and a flat screen tv.

However what we hadn't realised that on the weekend there is no room service; the hotel bar is closed and there is only one person on duty. While the duty staff were great my perception of the hotel as a 4 star took a nosedive by not providing these services. The coffee machine was only supplied with cheap plastic and cardboard cups which was not really acceptable for a hotel advertising itself as 4 star. Not being able to order a drink or food over the weekend was a huge disappointment.

I would stay there again but not over a weekend - for the price they need to be providing room service and keep the bar open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fillanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this Mercure in the centre of Rennes for three nights. It was the usual "New" Mercure type found all over France. The staff cheerful, helpful and efficient. The hotel public areas were clean and tidy as was our room. We left our car in the hotels underground car park for the duration of our visit. We ate breakfast in the hotel and found it catered for all tastes, was plentiful and good. The hotel is near the centre of Rennes 100m from a bus terminus and the river which divides the City. The surrounding streets are full of bars and restaurants catering for all clients from the students attending the universities to business people and tourists visiting.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. I booked via the internet and got a 40% off deal for the privilege room. The standard rate was 122 euros per night but we only paid 80 euros. The room was good and the location of the hotel was very convenient. To be fair Rennes is a very walkable city so most hotels are probably convenient, but it was handy to be only a few minutes walk from the Republique metro stop. The 2 members of staff I spoke to were both very helpful and spoke English well. They quickly sorted out the couple of small problems we had in the room (no slippers; faulty hairdryer) and gave us good recommendations for restaurants (handy because some of the ones rated highly on this website were closed for their holidays!).
Liked: big TV screen; wi-fi internet; non-smoking room was totally smoke (smell) -free; "security" door between bedroom and hall/bathroom which cut out all outside noise; free minibar in "privilege room"
Disliked: minibar had only soft drinks ;-)

Room Tip: We booked the privilege room with a garden view. The view was of a private garden (not the hotel'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fecster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed here on several occasion for business over the pass 3 years. The rooms are acceptable and staff have always been friendly and helpful. Close to the old town and located in a quit side street but very accessible to bars , restaurants , shops , bus/Metro station and a 15 min walk for the Rennes Main Train station.

Breakfast is very well supplied for all tastes however in-house room service overpriced for what you receive and you are better served looking outside the hotel for something to eat. Beside this point , I love coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden courtyard give you a nice view. With the window open and with the water feat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed 12 months ago for 2 nights. Enjoyed our stay. Big room and big bathroom. Room overlooked lovely coutryards. V. Central and walking distance to lots of shops and cafes. Helpful staff with good command of english. I would recommend this hotel to anyone ontemplating booking.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xotica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#6 of 64 in Rennes
166 reviews
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Balthazar Hotel and Spa MGallery Rennes
Hotel Anne de Bretagne
#4 of 64 in Rennes
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Hélier
Le Saint-Antoine Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement

Property: Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Address: 1 rue Paul Louis Courier, 35000, Rennes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes > Parcheminerie Toussaints
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rennes
#10 Business Hotel in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street in the heart of the city, a few minute walk from the historical and cultural sites of Rennes. Nestled in an old printing shop (heritage facade). Bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Rennes Centre Pre Botte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing