We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Rennes”
Review of Symphonie des Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Symphonie des Sens
Ranked #6 of 13 Rennes B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a 3 night stay at Symphonie des Sens and couldn't find any faults whatsoever.
The hotel is in the old part of Rennes and the building itself is apparently the oldest left standing after a fire destroyed much of the town.

We checked in with Fabrice, who speaks excellent English, but was going off to Paris for a few days and we were then looked after by his father Rene who was a lovely guy and was very helpful while covering for his son.

Our room was the one shown at the top and was large and the bed big and comfortable.
Excellent free wifi was available.

There was a comfortable lounge where the adequate breakfast was served.
Also there is an outside seating area which was comfortable to sit and relax.

If and when we return to Rennes we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LurkerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

The building and business are obviously the pride and joy of Fabrice who made us most welcome and is effusively committed to making your stay comfortable and civilised. Others have detailed the essential characteristics of this charming place.The beautiful restoration and maintainance of a fine large antique building must be a heavy overhead on a mere five rooms/suites. Our large bedroom (above photograph) was furnished with drama and comfort and there are relaxing communal areas indoors and out for a help-yourself glass of wine. Breakfast is extra, copious, and should not be missed. Access by car is a challenge: trust your SatNav. You need to park temporarily in Place Les Lices before taking any luggage a few hundred yards along the pedestrianised cobbles but you may need to glance at a map first. The hotel then gives you a more economical Resident's entry card for the large underground carpark.
Different but worth trying.

Room Tip: Our more expensive (large) room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This chic recently renovated B & B in the middle of the Vieux Rennes–the Old Town–is comfortable, cozy and perfectly French. The downstairs of this 16th century building, one of the very few to escape being destroyed in the Fire of 1720, is a decorating shop, complete with everything shabby chic. I am probably not the only B & B guest that was tempted to ship many of their products home!

Located on the Rue du Chapitre, Symphonie des Sens is in a pedestrian area that is a center for restaurants, bars, very upscale boutiques and creperie. Fabrice oversees both the shop and the B & B and provides a charming, warm welcome to all guests. He will go out of his way to share insight into the best restaurants, one of our favorites was just down the street from the B & B.

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. But if cozy and comfortable describe your taste in places to stay, Symphonie des Sens is for you. The wooden bannister appears to be the original one, and the stairs to the rooms squeak, just as you would want in a building from the 16th century! There is a large comfortable lounge and terrace for relaxing and the whole building is wired for WI-FI which is free. Beds are large and are perfect for a great night's sleep. Large windows open and provide great ventilation, even on a warm night in October. Breakfast is delivered to your bedroom and consists of homemade yogurt, fresh jams, croissants and baguette, freshly squeezed juice and a great tasting coffee.

The building itself is quite a relic in Rennes, having been one of the few to be spared the Fire of December 23, 1720 that destroyed over 900 historic buildings over 6 days. Great care was taken in the restoration of the interior of the building to preserve its character and charm. Understanding the history of this part of Rennes, Symphonie des Sens is indeed a very special place to stay. I would definitely go back–that is if I could get a reservation!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggielacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I hesitated about writing this review because I don't want it to be full next time I come to stay. This is the best place to stay in Rennes. I have been there many times and ended up in the usual French hotels. This boutique hotel is fantastic. It is a really old building in the heart of the old city (a pedestrianised area so very quiet). My room was huge and very tastefully decorated. I loved the little shop downstairs too. Anyway truly great. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva-mae-kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A truly marvelous place for travelers who would like an intimate, B&B-like experience. This hotel is right in the heart of town (in a pedestrian area), so I recommend that you get detailed instructions on how to get there. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Even though perhaps the oldest building in town, the room is modern. Ours had a shower. Hair dryer is stored in a drawer, and there's a pot for tea and coffee. In the common area where breakfast is served, there's an honor bar with beer and wine. The owner asks what time you'd like breakfast and it's prepared especially for you. I do not recommend this place for families (not enough room), but wonderful for a romantic get away. Parking is nearby (you can pay him for use of the city garage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbie21144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Rennes and we could make no better choice than this B&B -which is a typical building dating back to XVI century.
It is located in one of the most characteristic streets of the city center of the town (and it is pedestrian, by the way) and it is owned by a wonderful family, the Beringuer, which we thank for the assistance they gave us throughout our stay. They really made us feel at home and made our stay unforgettable.
A plus: for those travelling by car the hotel provides, on demand, a card allowing the parking in a very close covered parking ("Parking des Lices") at a very convenient rate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Le Magic Hall
#1 of 64 in Rennes
164 reviews
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Balthazar Hotel and Spa MGallery Rennes
Saint Hélier
Le Saint-Antoine Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#8 of 64 in Rennes
205 reviews
Cathédrale
Marnie et Mister H
Marnie et Mister H
#5 of 13 in Rennes
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symphonie des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphonie des Sens

Address: 3 rue du Chapitre, 35000, Rennes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes > Cathédrale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rennes
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Symphonie des Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing