We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal in a charming setting.”
Review of Le Galopin

Le Galopin
Ranked #10 of 802 Restaurants in Rennes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint Hélier
nyc
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A lovely meal in a charming setting.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My daughter and I wanted to take our friends to a special dinner in Rennes. Le Galopin did not disappoint. The meal was delicious; pork was tender and flavorful, seafood impeccably fresh. Great wine list, cordial service, comfortable space. In true Bretagne fashion, they do not rush you here, so take your time and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elveese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    336
    57
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not so great as expected”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant is supposed to be one of the best restaurants in Rennes, but didn’t find it as great as expected. It may be due to the fact that we ordered meat plates, while the restaurant is known for its fish and sea food. The plates were tasty enough, but they didn’t have so good presentation. When we requested our meat to be “very very well done”, the waiter was a little bit sarcastic, he showed us his shoe sole, and asked as if we want it like this. In general food was nice, but we were expecting more from the personnel and the atmosphere, according to the reputation of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Panos-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The welcome was very warm even if it was our first visit. Food was good, typical Bretagne dishes and the waiter joked with the kides and made everybody feel well. The owner/headwaiter was very welcoming.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were impressed, nice interior and fancy without being overbearing. Staff were very pleasant and welcomed us with big smiles, food was glorious and could not be faulted. A lovely treat, Perfect evening.
Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank AnnaSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Outstanding service. We enjoyed a stunning seafood meal here. Generous servings and wonderful fresh food. Our entree of Scallops, Prawns and baby squid was superb. Excellent wine menu at reasonable prices. The place had a great buzz to it. Make sure you book as they turned people away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Galopin also viewed

Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Gregoire, Rennes
 
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le Galopin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing