We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but perhaps a little overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manoir Hotel des Indes
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Manoir-Hôtel des Indes for my birthday weekend away and it was one of the worst weekends weather-wise this year! That is obviously out of the hotel's control but I mention it because had we been there for longer it may have proved to be an issue due to the lack of guest area. Fortunately we were able to occupy ourselves in the pool and sauna and we had a huge room to lounge about in as the hotel upgraded us to to a suite because we were the only guests for the first night. The same is true of the dining area which is essentially in the (large) stair well / atrium. It is light and airy and fine for breakfast but we had an evening meal there and it did lack a bit of atmosphere. The room was great with tea & coffee facilities (yes, in France!) and a fridge. The bed was awesome and the bathroom spacious and well equipped AND it had loads of space to put your wash stuff on. The grounds are pleasant and quiet despite the proximity to the motorway so sleep quality is good but you need to be aware that you will not be staying in the Manoir you see in the photo (for that is a function venue) but in a more modern extension at the rear. The décor is definitely Indian/Breton (and anyone who thinks it's Chinese rather than Indian needs to get out more!). The owners and their family are very helpful and pleasant but were a bit distracted by the weather as there was slight storm damage and the routers not working so there was no wifi that weekend. We had a great weekend, despite the weather, but while the hotel was not disappointing in almost every respect it was a little expensive for what it was in my opinion.

Room Tip: Having been shown several rooms and given a choice, I can definitely say that the suites are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

first of all:
personal transportation and GPS are a must, as the hotel is off the beaten path of Quimper city.
this is a family run hotel establishment and the the 3 women that run it, Catherine, Stephanie and Clem, do a fantastic job of accommodating their guests and even the dog Magnum is there to welcome you!
being that we stayed here for 4 nights in September, the hotel population was low, making for an intimate/relaxed stay.
we had the "Begum" room #7 on the upper floor. it was delightful: roomy, sunny with 2 skylights, East Indian decor with canopied bed, hardwood floors and modern bathroom with shower and tub, towel warming racks, and dining & lounge areas.
the hotel is a manor house and it's location warrants peace and quiet. the grounds are lovely and well maintained.
breakfast was an assortment of foods and beverages: fruit compote to begin, pastries, wonderful homemade breads, yogurts, fruits, cheeses, salami/ham, crepes with an array of toppings, coffees, teas, and juices.
the indoor-basement grotto-like pool and the sauna were also well-maintained. they also offer massage at the hotel with their own off -site therapist.
we especially want to thank the owner, Catherine, for her assistance in our auto trouble. she was our language translator to the mechanic and she was gracious to take us into Quimper so that we could rectify our auto situation.
summary of hotel: Excellent on every hospitality aspect! their website is true to your expectations.
lastly, the only reason i did not rate the hotel as 5 star is due to the fact that the front desk personnel were not always immediately available.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms are quite nice with views of the gardens. but if you like a walk-out/sitting patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doubletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an old chateau out in the country. Regretably the front looks closed as you approach. The entrance and rooms all seem to be at the back of the hotel. There is no bar and brekkie is served in a crowded little area between a lift and stairs.
The room was large but dark. The bathroom had no door or ceiling so absolutely no privacy.
The TV had french channels only.
Dinner in Quimper necessitated a €20 taxi each way as we both wanted some wine.
The room had flies and lots of cobwebs.
It could be nice but needs better managing. The receptionist who serves the very poor brekkie and seems to do the garden as well is exceptionally helpful for restaurants locally.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a four star hotel. The decor was a mix but less Indian than Japanese. The grotto swimming pool was a wonderful surprise. The grounds were great for a short hike. The woman who greeted us and served our dinner, Stephanie, was absolutely delightful and the dinner was the best we had on this trip. Breakfast was also excellent. It was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent a weekend night at this hotel near Quimper. We might have known by the battered sign and unkempt access road that it would be a disappointment. The hotel is decorated with a strange mixture of "Indian" furniture, cheap prefab curtains in abstract designs, "modern" plumbing fixtures. The workmanship is sloppy and our shower got the entire bathroom floor wet. The dining area is ugly and smells strongly of chlorine from the basement swimming pool. We had an impression of work and decoration done on the cheap with poor taste, and "delayed maintenance". The saving graces were a good mattress and plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you are looking for a peaceful getaway in charming surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I am an American, speaking English only, and I was very happy with my visit to this hotel. The owner was able to speak enough English to make my stay comfortable, and there are also two employees fluent in English.
The owners of the hotel went over and above to provide a friendly, helpful, and gracious stay for four days.
The rooms were nice, and the beds very comfortable. Very quiet.
The breakfast and other meals were very good.
The swimming pool is lovely and very relaxing.
The beautiful green grounds of this Brittany hotel are wonderful and great to walk in.
Thank you Catherine and Olivier for the nice memories of my visit to Brittany

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Contrycid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Small, family run hotel with reasonably sized and stylish rooms. We regretted paying for a superior room, which seems only marginally larger than the standard rooms. The rooms can get quite hot in summer as most sit right below the roof without much insulation. The hotel staff is generally very attentive and helpful. Our room was sufficient although very few TV channels (six, including NBC (English) and VIVA (German)) and a small 20'' TV. A major dislike was the toilet and shower only being separated by a divider from the main room with the ventilation out of order (only our room was like that I believe).

Food-wise, the breakfast was extremely limited and overall not very appealing, one cheese, one ham and a bit of cereals, pastries and jams. You can have dinner in the hotel, but Quimper, only a few miles away, has a full range of good eateries and you may also save some money.

The description of the hotel in brochures, the web site and TripAdvisor reviews had raised expectations which were not met. However, the hotel provides at or above a 3 star standard. Above, because the hotel has a nice and stylish pool, WIFI and extensive grounds which may be an added bonus when travelling with kids. The value for money is the real problem here. I would be quite happy to pay 70 or 80 pounds a night to stay for a few nights which would be more in line with other top hotels in this region.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quimper
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
2.6 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
654 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Gradlon
Hotel Gradlon
#10 of 23 in Quimper
218 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#5 of 10 in Douarnenez
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Hotel des Indes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Hotel des Indes

Address: 1 allee de Prad Ar C Hras | 1 Allee de Prad ar C' hras, 29000, Quimper, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range: $110 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Hotel des Indes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
his eco-friendly hotel offers charming rooms designed to capture the spirit of the East Indies. Surrounded by a large park, it features an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a sauna.The Manoir Hôtel Des Indes is only 2 kilometres from the fascinating city of Quimper. Main sites include the Saint-Corentin Cathedral and the old town, which is full of medieval fortifications.After a fun day sightseeing, enjoy a swim in the heated indoor pool before relaxing with a Jacuzzi and sauna. The swimming pool is heated with an eco-friendly wood heating system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Manoir Hotel des Indes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing