We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good 3 star with few 4 star amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First and foremost, all staff were professional and friendly. I would agree in general with the last 4 or 5 reviews.
The hotel has a pleasant ambience and is ideally situated for exploring Quimper. At a price, there is secure parking which unlike many French hotels is reasonably accessible (see Holiday Inn, Calais).
Public areas and bedrooms are well maintained and immaculately clean.
With no disrespect to the hotel it is difficult to imagine how it achieved a four stars that it proudly presents at the fron of the hotel. I can only guess that ‘free WiFi’ now warrants an extra star.
I would have no problem in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Check that Brittany Ferries is not going to play havoc with your travel arrangements i.e. closing do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim_father_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

spent 1 night in September
very good location short walk to the old center
basic clean room standart 3 * hotel room and bathroom
no special atmophere so i cant warmly recommend
good safe parking
quimper is wonderfull

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Love the way they put a lovely, modern hotel in an old ordinary building on an ordinary block! Much better than glass, modern, new exterior!

Warm helpful welcome, good restaurant recommendations.

Get a room with spa bathroom...jacuzzi, large room and bed ...great.and no noise from the corner bar! Perfect stop in the middle of a Rennes, Quimper, Paris trip!

Only drawback 11 euro breakfast....ordinary fare...other than some crepes on the bread table and a cheese or two...could use more local fare.

Room Tip: Go for the Spa bathroom option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

On my second stay here and still wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone! Small but very nice rooms. Great staff! It also has a nice patio/pond out back that is a perfect spot to enjoy a bottle of wine or 3!

The only major downfall is the proximity to a very loud bar. The bar itself is great when you are up for a party but it is very hard to sleep with the noise. I recommend a travel fan or white noise smartphone app to help out.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

One of the oddest rooms I have been in. There was a step down from the corridor to the room which was disconcerting at the end of a hotel corridor. In the room, the decor was a bit dated except the bathroom which was very modern. Unfortunately to get to the bathroom there was a large step up into it. Not all rooms have this feature however as the receptionist said the next day. Bed was comfortable. Location was good. Parking in hotel car park was useful. Air conditioning did not work at all however. Staff friendly and give good info about the city.

Room Tip: Try not to get the ones with the big step ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Perfect location, outstanding staff, modern and large rooms, nice decoration. I highly recommend this hotel, but not its breakfast. It is too expensive (13 €) for a very limited food offering (even if some organic and local products can be found).
Staff provides good information on local restaurants and activities. You can trust them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Let's start with what is good: it has clean rooms and a fancy foyer. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well equipped (3rd floor) with good quality furniture. The bathroom was excellent with a shower and proper bath (bit short for me but the wife liked it). The central location was a big plus though late at night some undesirables were skulking about as one got nearer the station - but that's every city you could care to mention really. The secure parking was good and though an "extra" was worth the money. The street outside and the surrounding area are metered. Watch your alloys on the 8" high granite kerbs. I didn't. Staff are smart and helpful. What's not good is that the breakfasts at 13 euros a pop are frankly a scandal for what is coffee and toast or the inedible french oversweet cereals. (Unless you really like eating ham and cheese at 8.00am of course...). Deign to ask for scrambled egg and an extra 5 euros will go on the bill. The room was ill lit with energy saving bulbs and frankly hard work when doing your hair etc. The hotel has a dog. I like dogs, but having a mut sniffing round your ankles in the dining room is not on really...as were the neat groups of turds accumulating round the outside water feature just off the dining room at the rear of the hotel. I wouldn't ever eat outside if I were you - and make sure you steer any kids away too.. I went in late April early May so maybe they clear it all out and send the dog away in summer. Hope so. Take my advice and make sure you take a travel kettle and two cups and save yourself a packet at breakfast by getting croissants etc the night before and eat them in your room with a cup of coffee. A couple will save over 100 euros over 4 days by doing so. That's a fine night out in Quimper let me tell you! Recommended places to eat (forgive any spelling errors) are: the Petit Gaveau; le Maitre Kanter (by Les Halles) and the Italian restaurant (whose name I have forgotten) directly opposite the Kanter. The Kanter has some hi-spec cuisine without the hi-spec prices. All 10 mins away at a stroll. Take a trip out to Concarneau, Benodet , Douarnenez and Locronan. All within 30 mins drive and worth the trip. Good luck with the one way system in Quimper.

Room Tip: Don't really know - mine was on the third floor with a view out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gradlon
Hotel Gradlon
#9 of 23 in Quimper
219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Manoir Hotel des Indes
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Kregenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Kregenn

Address: 13 rue des Reguaires, 29000, Quimper, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Kregenn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Kregenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Quimper
Quimper Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing