We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Escale Oceania
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet, good location”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was driving, so this hotel was very easy to find without negotiating Quimper streets. It is just across the small river from the Cathedral and the entrance to the Old Quimper part of town. Parking was right next door to the hotel entrance. The hotel was very clean, the room small, but updated and modern (plenty of outlets...not common in Europe), the BR divided into a toilet room and a separate shower (very good sized) room. The bed was definitely comfortable...not hard, like so many here! Breakfast included breads and rolls, hard boiled eggs, hot meats, cereal and good juices. Not huge but quite nice. The Staff was very friendly, and helpful. Overall, this hotel, un imposing from the outside, was terrific in every way...location, accessibility, comfort, cleanliness, amenities. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at l’Escale Oceania of Quimper and we are glad to see that you spend a nice stay.
As you say, the recent renovation of our hotel offers to our clients a real comfort to relax during their stay and we are blissful to notice that you enjoyed it.
We are really grateful for your comment, and be assured that we will let the whole team know.
We hope to welcome you soon in hour hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best Regards,
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    260
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
93
268
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel is nicely located right in the city center virtually 2 steps away from the cathedral easily reachable with GPS navigator. They declare 3 stars and could easily be rated at 4, but they don’t have hotel parking (there’s one just 10m away with modest fee) and there’s no minibar in the room. Everything looks fresh and pretty cozy. Wi-Fi is free and stable. B-fast is nice with only one flaw. Egg boiling machine never had enough water to actually boil the egg! Staff is polite and their English is good enough to communicate. Room rate is very decent. The street is quiet and you may sleep with open window. Should I happen to be returning in Quimper I will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Madame, Monsieur,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a "Nice Surprise".
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
You are just experienced the “Escale Oceania” concept with its warm and cosy atmosphere: (parquet flooring, quilt, and modern furnishings), its best fixtures and equipment: flat screen TV, free Wifi, t, RJ45 socket, new linen, clothes closet, luggage rack and In the bathroom, the roomy Italian-style shower....
We are looking forward to welcome you the next time in our hotel.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were on a three day break through Brittany Ferries ,we wanted a city break because if any ones been to Brittany in winter you will know how deserted it can get,not particularly impressed with the front of the hotel but once inside it's a different story,like going into a brand new hotel,we could not fault our room, the staff or the Oceania Escale hotel it was brilliant. Quimper and it's beautiful old parts are just ten minutes walk away and with our car parked safely in the next door car park we were free to explore Quimper. A special thanks to the French/ English lady at reception ( sorry we did not get her name ) but she is a treasure, we will certainty be back

Room Tip: get a room on the 3rd floor and on the road side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassets63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guests,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience at the hotel and that you enjoyed our lovely town. As you noticed our hotel has just recently been entirely renovated with a moderm design.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know and the French / English Girl.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel (Maybe in the summer when you can see our town florish) or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeth, Okehampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in October for a bargain city break with Brittany Ferries and chose this hotel because it was so recently renovated. Our room was small but brilliantly equipped with everything one could need and, with the whole of Quimper to explore, who needs a massive room! The shower room was particularly wonderful with that rare thing...I drenching shower that can be both very hot and very very cold if you want it to be. Breakfast was comprehensive and service friendly. I particularly liked the fact that the receptionist spoke very clear French and allowed me to get back in to the swing of the language again without resorting to English. I wish more people did this, we are in France after all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guests,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience. As you noticed our hotel has just recently been entirely renovated with a moderm design even for the bathrooms.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a long and lovely weekend at the Oceania Escale and loved it. I would certainly stay here again and not hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends visiting the area. Not only was the hotel in a great location, it had parking next door (rare in city hotels), was exteremely well appointed, extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff are very friendful and helpful, and unlike other hotels I've stayed in, treat you like a valued guest where nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast was a delicious self serve buffet with a huge selection on offer and again, friendly staff on hand to help you to the table with your array of breakfast goodies! A credit to the chain, this hotel is a little gem in Quimper's hotel list.
PS Just one thing........would like to see Gordon the Goldfish in a bigger and more exciting home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guests,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience and loved the hotel as much as the town. We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
Concerning the goldfish we are looking into getting him a girlfriend and a bigger home.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent two nights at the Oceania Escale and loved it! We had originally only booked for one night, but we liked the hotel and the city so much that we stayed a second night. We were on the top floor and the room had a pitched ceiling, which was kind of cool. The room was modern, well-equipped, and the internet worked great. We were able to find free parking on the street and we didn't move the car the whole time we were there because everything is conveniently located within walking distance of Hotel Escale Oceania. The staff were another highlight of our stay - professional, helpful, knowledgeable, and English-speaking. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quimper.

Room Tip: If you like a room with a little character, ask for one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guests,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience and loved the hotel as much as the town so much that you stayed an extra night.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place was great. Parking was right next door. The greeting was warm and the lady who served us was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well appointed, quiet and comfortable and well maintained by the looks. The town is just a short stroll away. We stayed just one night but it was first class. I hope that they change nothing. One of the beter hotels we stayed at in France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_from_Adelaide_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
We are looking forward to welcome you the next time in our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gradlon
Hotel Gradlon
#8 of 23 in Quimper
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Quimper
Ibis Quimper
#4 of 23 in Quimper
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escale Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escale Oceania

Property: Hotel Escale Oceania
Address: 6 rue Theodore le Hars, 29000, Quimper, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escale Oceania 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Quimper's town centre, very close to the quays along the Odet, let yourself be charmed by a stay at this renovated, quiet and welcoming hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Escale Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing