We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location”
Review of Hotel Gradlon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gradlon
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location,location,location”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not deluxe, but very comfortable. The husband and wife who own and operate the establishment are charming and helpful, always ready to guide and give advice to the tourist. The proximity to the center of the charming old city and to the river is a major plus, and a good reason to bypass the somewhat unappealing cafe next door. In France we often bypass the hotel breakfast, and head out to a cafe for our grand cafe au lait and croissants or baguettes. Here, we recommend the hotel breakfast. The hotel is built around a small well planted courtyard, and our first floor room was at the opposite end, so each evening ended with a very pleasant, but brief, garden stroll. Our September mid week visit was at the end of the tourist season, but street parking was a bit dicey at the end of the day so that the ten Euro for a garage spot does seem a wise move, more so in high season.

If you are only visiting Quimper, there is no need for a car. The Gradlon was a ten minute walk from the Gare (with a bit of an uphill at the end) and a twenty minute walk to the opposite end of town to visit the faince factory and museum. Everything else is in-between.
(there is no need for a car if you are only visiting Quimper.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel on the courtyard would be the quietest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrbobG1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    78
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
111
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayedin Hotel Gradlon whilst touring with Afootinfrance, in Brittany. It was a great trip and Afootinfrance were spot on with their hotel recommendations. The tour that they put together for us was a 12 day customised tour, where they provided the guide and driver as well as vehicle. Quimper was lovely and the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel was the first we experienced in our driving tour and are now on our 4th. What a pity they all couldn't be as good as the Hotel Gradlon. Spotlessly clean, superb breakfast and a very friendly proprietor who gave us wonderful recommendations for lunch and evening meals. A lovely hotel which we would definitely recommend to others and would be more than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor but I would think all the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiehobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Don't judge this book by its cover! A small charming hotel with heaps of French Character. All rooms are different in decor. We stayed here for 4 nights, and it was a pleasure to return to the hotel after a day out. Large modern bathrooms, bedroom a good size. Wifi in rooms. Our room looked over the pretty central courtyard. Hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and another couple of minutes to the centre of town, All staff speak perfect English, very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Bar and local shops only metres away. There is no lift, but am sure there are rooms on the ground floor for wheelchairs etc. This hotel is well worth the money it is delightful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polyesterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. The location is good. We spent 5 nights here in a superior room. It was large, pretty, and comfortable. The bathroom was large and modern. We prebooked a parking space in their garage convenently around the corner. We probably didn't need to spend the extra money but we were happy the car was in a secure place during our stay. Our room faced the inner courtyard and was quiet. The lobby sitting room and bar were comfortable and welcoming. We had drinks in the evenings at the bar and in our room. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was expensive so we only opted for it one morning. It was good. If you are going to Quimper this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for our birthdays and to be able to attend and fully appreciate the music festival of Cornouaille.
The hotel is very well situated, 5 minutes walking from the centre of town. for what ot is worth, you have a cafe and a small grocery store near by.We had reserved parking, 10€ a night, a smart move considering the fact that it is at a premium during the festival. In normal times, there would be no need to purchase parking.
The female staff are friendly and attentive. The male staff is a bit haughty.
The room was large and comfortable, as were the bed. The linen is of good quality. We stayed in a suite, and would recommend same, as the large bathtub and the extra space, where you can sit and work if necessary, are enjoyable. We appreciated the free wi-fi.
The carpets are a little worn.
The breakfasts are very copious, with very good coffee.
The hotel is very quiet and secure.

Room Tip: There are rooms available on the ground floor, facing the nice court yard? This avoids the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't be deceived by the exterior of this hotel. Once you go past the front doors, you enter into a special elegant setting. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. While they maintained a sense of elegance and charm, they were completely modern. They were a good size with modern plumbing and excellent WiFi. Adjoining the breakfast dining room was a lovely garden. The hotel is located within a ten minute walk from the center of Quimper. The hotel staff was courteous and informative

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaneur530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Quimper
Ibis Quimper
#4 of 23 in Quimper
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gradlon

Property: Hotel Gradlon
Address: 30 rue de Brest, 29000, Quimper, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gradlon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gradlon Hotel Quimper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing