We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Plage
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for a three night weekend break in May 2013. As we arrived in the evening we decided to get a cab from Dinard Airport. There were cabs waiting outside and we were greeted by a very friendly lady cab driver the drive was about 20 minutes and the cost was 13.75 euros. The hotel is in an excellent location, across the road from the beautiful beach and a two minute walk to the main square across the road from the hotel is a big tourist information centre and the Le Gallic bus stop is in front of it. The number 7 bus will take you to Rennes and the 16A goes to St Malo.
Our check in was quick and friendly, the hotel room was a triple which was very spacious for two people, it was clean and recently decorated to a good standard the beds were comfy. As others have stated the bathroom although very clean was old. We had a full size bath with a shower head set in a low holder, great for washing your hair whilst in the bath, but if your a shower person you need to hold it over your head. We didn't find this a problem and although there is no shower curtain the bath is set in an alcove, so still works! Because of the bad breakfast reviews, I'm afraid we didn't bother to try it and instead went to a local bar "Bar le Skipper" see separate review. Dinard is charming it was my first visit and I fell in love it has the same charm as parts of Cornwall, beautiful beaches, quirky buildings and that relaxed feel. I went with my sister who had visited 49 years earlier and had stayed at the Hotel Printania (this is a traditional hotel on the other side of town) we did go there for a meal and it was excellent. We found the Bretton's very friendly our French is very basic and we found them very patient and eager to help. We went to the market in Dinard on the Saturday morning and it was excellent with a variety of goods and a great atmosphere. We also visited St. Malo, (by No 16a bus for 2.10 euros) a beautiful walled town with lots of bars, restaurants and shops we wanted to walk the "Wall" but unfortunately it was raining heavily so we had to go shopping instead. We had lunch at "Timothy" we both had Gallette's which were excellent, the place was packed out, but the service was still fast and efficient, the cakes looked amazing, but we were so full we sadly had no room to try them. On departure there was a minor error we had been charged a slightly higher rate than shown on our booking form, but when we showed our copy it was corrected immediately and without any fuss we were also permitted to leave our bags with the reception for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Over-40-and-fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel on the last day of a touring holiday before heading for the ferry at St Malo. The hotel is very well located only 100 meters from the beach. Easy walks to local shops and places to eat, with plenty of options to choose from.
We had a triple room with only 2 of us in it so plenty of apce. The third bed was in a separate adjoining room which might be useful to some.
The place was clean and well maintianed, but not spectacular in terms of furnishings. Bathroom was a good size and a decent shower.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, including where to park and local restricions.
Nice restauarnt and outside seating arae on the street, where we enjoyed a ber in the sun. Breakfast is on a terrace on the first fllo overlooking the bay, very nice.
Was great for a one night stay and only 20 minutes drive to the ferry at St Malo in the morning.

Room Tip: Good place to stay if you are heading for the ferry at St Malo, only 20 minuts drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

There's no doubt, the Hotel de la Plage is in a great location and its restaurant menu offers the best of Breton and general French cooking. Excellent Soupe de Poisson, good steaks. Desserts all rather cream and flour based, lacking in fresh fruit options, but good all the same. But on the negative side, the rooms are tired and small, the bathrooms are quaint and the breakfast is an oiutright rip off. If the hotel had cost half the amount I paid, I'd be happy. But for what we paid, I wouldn't go back.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank clairewilkinsonlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A very good location a few steps from the main Plage de l'Ecluse and opposite the Information centre. Some rooms have sea views and, a few of those, large terrace balconies. We had room 7, probably the best. The hotel was clean and comfortable for 2* but the decor is tired and the bathroom needs renovation. Not to have a proper shower these days is odd. Only one sour note was the breakfast, which was mean and very poor value at €10.50 Others have made the same point so plainly the proprietors don't read Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 7 for view and terrace. Eat breakfast somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FliesM20P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great Location, close to beach so easy to travel too and from with children for loo's etc. Decor is a bit tired but staff are great and the resturant is exceptional, and for Dinard not too expensive.
Stayed several times and would go again

Room Tip: Sans vue is cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N8225Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We spent two nights in the Hotel de la Plage whilst in Brittany and although it's not the best hotel in town it is very well placed and has an amazing view over the beach; which we really enjoyed over breakfast on the terrace. The service is very pleasant and friendly, just the decor could benefit from an update.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel de la Plage for 5 nights. We requested a room with a terrace overlooking the sea, what a view! The room itself was quite small but very adequate with plenty of hanging space and drawers. It was immaculate with a very comfortable double bed and clean crisp white duvet cover and pillow cases. The bathroom was again adequate with small bath and over the bath shower, but not really possible to have a proper shower. We didn't take breakfast so I can't comment on that but the dining/terrace area looked very nice.The location was the real winner though, one minute from the beautiful beach, promenade and all amenities, fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb24760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinard hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral
0.0 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Le Crystal
Le Crystal
#10 of 22 in Dinard
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes
Hotel Les Alizes
#2 of 22 in Dinard
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Printania
Hotel Printania
#13 of 22 in Dinard
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Dinard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: 3 boulevard Feart, 35800 Dinard, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing