We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of Hotel Saint-Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

One night in Dinard before the ferry back to Guernsey. I would normally stay in St Malo, but decided to venture across the Barrage for a change. The hotel is ideally located about 10 mins walk from the seafront. there was on street parking right across the street or a large free car park 2 mins walk away. The welcome was friendly and the hotel has a nice fresh feeling to it. A smashing breakfast sitting in the courtyard on a warm summer morning made me feel like I didn't want to leave. Free Wi-Fi across the hotel is a bonus.
One piece of advice, if you have to St Malo for the ferry, allow 30 mins as traffic on the Barrage can be very heavy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dickyguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    114
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
155
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a delightful hotel and charming host! the location is really convenient, just 5-10 mins walk up a slight hill from the main area of restaurants and from the beach. Free parking on the street or nearby car park. The whole place has a welcoming feel and Pierre seems always available to cater for any need. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful court yard garden having a nice cup of tea (we are English after all!) or a nightcap after a meal in one of Dinard's many restaurants. Would definitely stay here again - in fact can't wait to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline7388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Living in Jersey we are only an hour away by fast ferry. St. Malo was pretty booked up and expensive so we opted for Dinard, just a short taxi-ride from the port, where we'd never been before. The whole experience was delightful but Hotel St. Michel and it's 'all you can eat' breakfasts was the highlight. Pierre and his charming wife really pull out all the stops to make you feel welcome and make sure you have everything you need. We did miss tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom but can't really imagine where they could be put as the 'grand lit' really was 'grand' and very comfortable. And at a very reasonable price, too - we will be back, deo volente.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derekthecleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for four nights in this great value little hotel ideally located in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from the town centre. The charm of the decor was matched by the charm of the host Pierre who was extremely helpful with directions, restaurant and sight seeing recommendations. The all you can eat buffet breakfasts were delicious and could be taken, weather permitting, in a lovely little courtyard. We very much look forward to making a return visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights after walking out of our booked hotel,
The owner was really helpful and spoke good english,nothing was too much trouble and he made us really welcome.The room was very pleasant and well furnished,the breakfast was excellent.
A short walk from Dinard centre and very quiet.
We will stay here again without doubt!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomTwpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We loved this Hotel, found it by chance as we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the area to visit my mother. I thought the room was spacious and clean,mother bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel itself was nicely decorated and a bit quirky which gives it the edge compared to other hotels in the area. It had a lovely little bar area and a little garden where we ate our breakfast this morning in the sunshine, it had a home stay feel about it which was warm and welcoming, the owner was very helpful and friendly and recommended the best restaurant to get a good Fruit de Mer as it can be very hit and miss down on the waterfront sometimes and made a reservation for us. He also spoke perfect English which is a bonus if you don't speak French. I would thoroughly recommend it...forget the big chain hotels on the waterfront which is where we would usually stay which are clinical and faceless...save your money for the great French food and wine... Bon Chance!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CozJsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We visited Dinard and stayed at the Hotel Saint Michel this winter for 3 nights. The new owners are very personable and go above and beyond to make sure you have an excellent stay. They are making a big effort to renovate the property and we found our room adorable and just what we needed. The hotel is in the perfect location- walking distance the center of the city and to the beach! Dinard is wonderful and the hotel Saint Michel was the perfect place to enjoy the city. We highly recommend the hotel, the breakfast, their staff and we thank them for their wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salicia2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinard hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes
Hotel Les Alizes
#3 of 22 in Dinard
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 22 in Dinard
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Dinard
Novotel Dinard
#6 of 22 in Dinard
1,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Crystal
Le Crystal
#11 of 22 in Dinard
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Michel

Property: Hotel Saint-Michel
Address: 54 boulevard Lhotelier, 35800 Dinard, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint-Michel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing