We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Reine Hortense
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Room # 2/3 is an unusual suite with two bedrooms, a single bath & a fabulous sitting room opening to both bedrooms,s on the second floor fronting the beach & channel. Spectacular views. Great location, walk able to restaurants & venues.

Room Tip: Suite 3 is outstanding. Good for couple or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is such a pleasant place that I'm pleased to provide a current review that echoes the many favorable past reviews that helped me choose it. We spent two nights in a beach/bay view room in July, 2012. It's a charming place to stay. Although our bathroom was entirely new and modern, the hotel is feels very much like the kind of spic and span, small resort hotel that James Bond might have used for a weekend love nest. The doors have their knobs in the center, there are old-style wood and glass french doors overlooking the bay, in the breakfast room, and the two owners look like young nobles sharing their little chateau with family friends. Everything is in perfectly cared-for, shiny-clean condition-there is nothing rustic or out-of-date about Reine Hortense. The vast tile stove (decorative) in the main lounge is a treat to look at.

I have to admit there was no traditional bidet in our huge, new bathroom-that left more room for us! But we did have to take a seated tub shower with a completely modern "telephone" sprayer in one hand. That was not my favorite part of visiting France back in the 80s. There is no elevator, and this mansion is down a long flight of (good) stone steps, halfway down the hill to the beach. Only seagulls woke us in the morning, but this town can get crowded in August.

Breakfast was simple, but delicious, including sliced cheeses and meats and boiled eggs. It's an extra charge. Parking was free, and right across the street. They have several spaces in a lot, with fold-up stanchions to repel other cars until you twist a key and allow your space's barrier to fall flat om the pavement. By American standards, our deluxe double room was a little small, but it came with a fireplace and two exposures for a breeze. By European standards, it was not a small room.

We got good advice on restaurants and touring from the staff. Our local objectives (by rental car) were Mont St. Michel and St. Malo, to which we added Dinan (a swell medieval town), Dol de Bretagne and an out-of-the way private garden (very worth the narrow but paved road drive) called La Ballue. I think there are more gardens in Brittany than in the Loire Valley.

We stayed in Dinard because St. Malo seemed too crowded and busy, which turned out to be a good guess. However, this coast is nothing like the "fashionable" Southern coast of France. Dinard has long been a favorite English vacation spot. The English Channel is a little cold for swimming, but we saw swimmers every day. And we got a great, fresh-baked Belgian Waffle on the "boardwalk" near Reine Hortense.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice old villa, with garden and beach and splendid bay view from the rooms, but too demanding for elderly people, because you have 47 steps down and up to reach the reception from the parking or street and other 45 to get from the reception to the second floor rooms.
I think this should be told to visitors before hand.

Room Tip: Rooms are cosy, but no table or space where to leave your things. Night tables too small for a book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

A wonderful villa facing and with direct access to the main beach at Dinard. We have admired the facade in the past and decided to stay for a couple of nights. The interior is elegant and spacious and decorated and furnished with great taste and style. Our bedroom had a garden view and a delightful enclosed balcony. The proprietors were most attentive and provided a very good breakfast. To stay here was a delightful experience that would have been greatly enhanced had the weather been kinder. Parking is available in close proximity but you do need to good on steps to access the hotel front door and the path to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonguhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife, my adult daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in 2 rooms in early June. My daughter had booked the hotel, after substantial research on Brittany. We drove to Dinard from Paris, arriving in mid afternoon. We were greeted warmly by Florence Benoist, distaff side of a husband and wife ownership and management team.....who, despite our protestations, showed remarkable strength, energy and agility in carrying our somewhat heavy bags down a double flight of long steps into the reception and then up a double flight of stairs to our accommodations. Florence remarked that she had noticed that we Americans travel with a "lot of stuff". We had a double room, the one containing the Queen's silver bathtub. It was an excellent room.......ample space, an excellent and panoramic view of the beach below and of the harbor and the city of St. Malò in the distance. The room was beautifully appointed and furnished on request with a router (no extra charge) for good wireless internet. Parking was convenient and included in the rent. The room had a bathtub and a modern, spacious shower room with plenty of hot water and pressure, with separate toilet enclosure. One suggestion I could make was to supply a larger bar of soap......a very minor issue. Our daughter had a lovely garden view room down the hall with a very stylish sun room off the bedroom. Breakfast was provided at a cost, but it was of excellent quality and served professionally and cordially.....at one's pleasure. There is an excellent large sitting room on the main floor, with a grand piano, very old and functional ceramic fireplace and lovely appointments, where one can enjoy a cocktail with a light snack in the evening with a spectacular view of the bay; it is an excellent venue for an aperitif in the evening prior to walking easily into the town for dining out. We enjoyed our interaction with the owners, who proved very interesting. Marc, husband of Florence, lived in the home as a child. Prior to marrying, he had a WWII Jeep in original condition and belonged to a group of hobbyists who dressed in original US Army uniforms and honored DDay with ceremonial formations in these uniforms. Marc showed us photos of these occasions and they were very interesting. Marc and Florence both converse fluently in English and are very congenial and interesting hosts. They have a 5 year old daughter, aptly called Hortense......after the Queen of the house.
The entire premises are immaculate......they work very hard to make it so. The hotel is open from April through the end of September and then in the Winter months Marc performs maintenance and updates on various facts of this old and very spacious and well situated mansion. Dinard is quiet.....and we found ourselves driving rather substantial distances to the southern coast of Brittany during a couple of the days to see traditional Breton towns and villages on the south coast. St. Malò, a mere 15 minute drive or ferry ride, is a very interesting old town. Brittany is a very interesting part of France, and the Hotel de la Reine-Hortense is a perfect lodging from which to enjoy it.

Room Tip: The owners will explain the layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This very attractive small and comfortable hotel is run by an extremly nice young french couple who both speak English. They not only do an excellent job of running the hotel with a personal touch but they helped us change a car rental drop off after several failed attemps on our part. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished and have beautiful views over the town and its broad beach. There is also a very pleasant terrace off the airy living room with similar views where a nice breakfast is served. It is well situated to take advantage of the town, the beach and the walking path that runs along the beach and beyond. As others have mentioned in their reviews you do have to climb steps down to the hotel and up to your oom but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JADG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A wonderful surprise. The steps definately took care of the gym for the day, but it is so worth it! The Innkeepers are very accomodating and English speaking. We wished we could have stayed longer, it is on our list of places to return to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinard hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 22 in Dinard
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Dinard
0.0 mi away
Le Crystal
Le Crystal
#9 of 22 in Dinard
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes
Hotel Les Alizes
#2 of 22 in Dinard
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Reine Hortense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Reine Hortense

Address: 19 Rue de la Malouine, 35800 Dinard, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Price Range: $188 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Reine Hortense 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a luxurious Villa located directly on the beach built by a Russian prince in 1902, Nicolas Vlassov.The location is ideal,overlooking the beautiful beach of dinard perfect for a dip before taking his breakfast, using the private access to the beach. the city center is within 2 minutes walk from the beach promenade.Each room has free parking with an individual key.7 rooms and one suite,all personalized, windows open wide to the sea, some have a private balcony or veranda terrace. Breakfast is served in the elegant Belle Epoque lounge overlooking the sea or on the sunny terrace overlooking the beach. Owners Florence and Marc Benoist will be very pleased to welcome you in their family home.Unique atmosphere, exceptionnal view... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Reine Hortense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing