We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incroyable !!”

Bistro Resto Oliver
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in Dinard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Incroyable !!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We where staying in Dinard for few days after our summer holiday in Italy .Tried to book via email on the way up through France but had not got a reply ! . Arrived in the town which at first felt like hell !! because the whole place was in lock down for 'Braderie de Dinard ' which is where the whole of Brittany sells it's crap on the streets!.

Walked past the restaurant and asked if they had a table for that evening ,phew 1 left ( Oliver does not check email on Sundays).

Their are to many things to say about this place for one review ! but trust me this is the best meal I have had in Dinard,Saint malo , Concale etc over many years ! This restaurants food ,staff and owner Oliver have something very special . I would make the effort to travel from Jersey to go and eat there !!!. Booking is essential .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    111
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely quiet ambience, beautiful scallops and excellent fillet steak. Good value for money and great service too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Two of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Five of us ate here on 11 September and we enjoyed it so much that we came back again the next day - fortunately there was a cancellation! We ran out of superlatives to describe the quality of the food which led to heated discussions about who had made the best choices. In truth, while we envied each other's food, none of us would have changed what we had. The only disappointment was that we could not try everything on the menu, though we did manage to sample a fair number of items. The quality of the food was matched by the service we received which was friendly, helpful and not too formal. This, together with the general ambiance of the restaurant made a very pleasant experience. For anyone visiting Dinard the Bistro Resto Oliver should be the first place to try. They will not be disappointed and it is even worth making a detour from further afield.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an excellent place. The food was incomparably wonderful, special mention for the sublime crab ravioli in a crab bisque which was simply heaven in a dish and quite possibly one of the loveliest things I have ever eaten. Main course of fillet steak accompanied by morels, was also perfect. Fine ingredients cooked to perfection. Also special mention for charming service, and the chef coming over at the end to ask for our opinion (nice genuine seeiming bloke too) was really appreciated and added to the overall welcome and warmth of the place.

In an age when so many restaurants survive on reputation and dissapoint with the reality, this was a shining light on how it can be done. One of the best restaurant experiences ever. Would strongly reccomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VGreen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely find”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very good dinner with our two small boys - chef was very accommodating with their food, which meant the whole family was happy. One piece of advice - apparently Oliver used to be a pastry chef and puddings looked wonderful, however we had both already eaten too much to indulge - try to pace yourself so you don't miss out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samgleave68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Resto Oliver also viewed

Dinard, Ille-et-Vilaine
Dinard, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Dinard, Ille-et-Vilaine
Dinard, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Bistro Resto Oliver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing